Golfers Surge to Third in Arizona

Jan. 29, 2008

The second-ranked UCLA men's golf team climbed from fifth place to third after a sizzling final round at the PING/Arizona Intercollegiate Tuesday at Arizona National in Tucson.

The Bruins posted a team score of 275 (-12) and surged to third place at 847 (-5). Tennessee won the event with a 54-hole score of 832 (-20), followed by second-place UNLV at 835 (-17). Arizona, which posted a score of 292 (+8) on Tuesday, fell to fourth at 848 (-4). East Tennessee State finished fifth at 855 (+3).

Individually, UCLA senior Kevin Chappell simply overpowered the field. He posted a three-round total of 198 (-15) to win by seven shots. His 54-hole score eclipsed the 23 year-old school record of 199 held by Duffy Waldorf, the 1985 Player of the Year. In addition, Chappell's final round 64 (-7) tied for the second best single round score in school history. He made seven birdies, six on the outward nine, and no bogeys. Finally, his front nine score of 29 (-6) tied another school record. Chappell's victory was the fourth of his career.

The rest of the Bruins atoned for Monday's sub-standard performance, which left them in fifth place, seven-over par after 36 holes. Freshman Philip Francis posted a 70 (-2) and tied for 23rd at 217 (+4). Sophomore Jason Kang fired a 66 (-5) and tied for 26th at 218 (+5). Junior Lucas Lee tied for 31st at 219 (+6) after posting a 72 (+1) and senior Craig Leslie tied for 45th at 222 (+9) following a one-over par final round. Junior Erik Flores, competing as an individual, finished at 14-over par 227.

For complete results, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
2nd (-27, 837)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
8th (+30, 894)
Monday, Feb 29
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Monday, Mar 07
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Tuesday, Mar 08
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Wednesday, Mar 09
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
15th (+60, 924)
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Friday, Mar 25
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
T-14th (+31, 871)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
9th (+39, 1,089)
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Story
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Story
Sunday, May 01
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
8th (+45, 1,465)
Monday, May 16 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Kohler, WI
Tuesday, May 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Kohler, WI
Wednesday, May 18 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Kohler, WI
Friday, May 27 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Saturday, May 28 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Monday, May 30 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Tuesday, May 31 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Wednesday, Jun 01 - 2:10 PM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS