Bruin Bombs Back Up Kerr in 3-1 Win Over Notre Dame

March 10, 2009

Box Score

LOS ANGELES - Junior Kaila Shull and sophomore Katie Schroeder each hit home runs to help support sophomore Donna Kerr, who struck out 11, as the fourth-ranked Bruins defeated Notre Dame 3-1 on Tuesday at Easton Stadium.

The Bruins improve to 24-3 on the season, while the Fighting Irish fall to 6-7.

Kerr allowed five hits and one run, walking nobody to improve to 13-3 on the season. Shull and junior Julie Burney each had two hits.

UCLA scored first for the 17th time this season, remaining undefeated when doing so. With one out, Schroeder launched her ninth home run of the year to right field to put the Bruins on top 1-0.

Notre Dame quickly tied the contest with back-to-back doubles in the top of the second by Linda Kohan and Christine Lux.

The game remained square until the fourth when the Bruins took the lead for good. Shull led off with a single to left and moved to second on a sacrifice bunt by freshman Andrea Harrison. After sophomore Monica Harrison advanced Shull to third on a ground out to second, Burney beat out an infield single to short to score Shull and give the Bruins a 2-1 lead.

The Bruins added some insurance in the sixth on one swing of the bat, as Shull cranked her seventh homer of the season to lead off the inning and make it 3-1.

That was all the support Kerr needed. The sophomore retired seven in a row at one point and set down the side in order in the first, fourth and seventh. She also struck out three in the fifth and two apiece in the fourth and seventh.

Brittney Bargar picked up the loss in the circle for Notre Dame, giving up seven hits, three runs and one walk with five strikeouts in six innings.

The Bruins are off from game action for Winter quarter finals and will next play on Sunday, March 22 at Cal State Bakersfield. The doubleheader begins at 12 p.m. Gametracker will be available at UCLABruins.com.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 3
Friday, Mar 04
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
W, 19 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
W, 7 - 1
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
W, 13 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 3 - 2 (9)
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
T, 3 - 3
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
Canceled
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9 (6)
Friday, Mar 25
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 6
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 10 - 8
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 4
Friday, May 06
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 15 - 7 (5)
Saturday, May 07
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Sunday, May 08
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Rained Out
Friday, May 20
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, May 21
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 1 - 8
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 2 - 1 (9)
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 2 - 1
Thursday, Jun 02 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Auburn
Oklahoma City, OK
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS