No. 4 UCLA Faces Michigan in Madison Square Garden

Nov. 19, 2008

LOS ANGELES -

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

GAMEDAY CENTRAL
DATE: Thursday, Nov. 20, 2008
SITE: Madison Square Garden (19,763)
TIP-OFF: 6:30 p.m. PT
TELEVISION: ESPN2
TALENT: Dan Shulman (play-by-play), Dick Vitale (analyst) and Doris Burke (sideline)
RADIO: AM 1150
TALENT: Chris Roberts (play-by-play) and Don MacLean (analyst)
SERIES: UCLA leads the series 11-3

BRUIN INJURY REPORT
There are no injuries to report.

SERIES vs. MICHIGAN
This is the 15th meeting between UCLA and Michigan with the Bruins leading the series 11-3. This is the seventh straight season the Bruins and the Wolverines have met, with UCLA winning the last four meetings. Last year, UCLA rallied from an eight-point deficit in the second half by outscoring Michigan 41-18 over the final 14 minutes of a 69-54 victory, led by Josh Shipp's 19 points. Kevin Love had 17 points and 16 rebounds while Luc Richard Mbah a Moute added 12 points and 13 rebounds. Russell Westbrook also scored in double figures with 12 points. DeShawn Sims and Manny Harris led Michigan with 12 and 11 points, respectively.

COLLISON NAMED PAC-10 PLAYER OF THE WEEK
Senior point guard Darren Collison was named the first Pac-10 Player of the Week for 2008-09 after averaging 17.5 points, 3.5 assists, 2.5 rebounds and 2.5 steals per game last week in two home wins in the first and second round of the 2K Sports Classic benefiting Coaches vs. Cancer.

POLLING UCLA
UCLA sports a national ranking of No. 4 in both the ESPN/USA Today Coaches Poll and the Associated Press poll, released on Nov. 17, 2008. UCLA has been ranked in the top 10 in the Associated Press poll for 42 straight weeks, which is tied with North Carolina for the longest active streak in the country.

RECAPPING THE 2K SPORTS CLASSIC
UCLA advanced to the semifinals of the 2K Sports Classic benefiting Coaches vs. Cancer at Madison Square Garden in New York with victories over Prairie View A&M (82-58) and Miami University (64-59). The semifinals are slated for Nov. 20 with the final on Nov. 21. No. 5/8 Duke has advanced with wins over Presbyterian (80-49) and Georgia Southern (97-54). Southern Illinois also advanced with victories over California (Pa., 66-52) and Massachusetts (80-73). Michigan, which will face the Bruins, advanced with wins over Michigan Tech (77-55) and Northeastern (76-56).


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 77
Sunday, Dec 06
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 76
Saturday, Dec 12
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
W, 71 - 66
Tuesday, Dec 15
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
W, 89 - 80
Saturday, Dec 19
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
L, 76 - 89
Tuesday, Dec 22
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 67 - 53
Friday, Jan 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 93 - 96 (2OT)
Sunday, Jan 03
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 78 - 85
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 84
Saturday, Jan 09
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 74
Wednesday, Jan 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 75 - 89
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 82 - 73
Saturday, Jan 23
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 72 - 86
Thursday, Jan 28
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 84 - 86
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 50
Thursday, Feb 04
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 61 - 80
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 10 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 8:30 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Saturday, Mar 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 15 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Four
Dayton, OH
Thursday, Mar 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Saturday, Mar 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
Monday, Apr 04 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS