NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
UCLA Men's Water Polo Nets Five All-MPSF Selections

Nov. 28, 2007

WOODLAND, Calif. - Senior Marco Santos, junior Krsto Sbutega and sophomores Scott Davidson and Chay Lapin of the UCLA men's water polo team have earned second-team All-MPSF honors, the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation announced this week. Senior Justin Johnson received third-team All-MPSF honors.

Santos, a center from Miami Beach, Fla., earned second-team honors for the second consecutive season. UCLA's third-leading scorer netted 32 goals in all 28 games, recording nine multiple-goal games. Santos scored five goals in the MPSF Tournament, including two in each of the Bruins' final two games. The senior center totaled two three-goal games this fall.

Sbutega, an attacker from Kotor, Montenegro, was named an All-MPSF selection for the second straight year - he was named a first-team selection in 2006. Sbutega finished the 2007 campaign with 35 goals, the second-highest total on the team. He scored a team-leading nine goals in three MPSF Tournament games and posted three four-goal efforts this season.

Davidson, an attacker from Seal Beach, Calif., gained All-MPSF accolades for the first time in his career after leading the Bruins with 49 goals. Davidson ended his sophomore season having scored in each of UCLA's final 14 matches, recording 31 goals in that span. His 49-goal output was the most by a Bruin since Brett Ormsby totaled 70 as a senior in 2004.

Lapin, a goalkeeper from Long Beach, Calif., earned second-team honors for the second straight season. Lapin finished the season with a 6.90 goals against average and 198 saves. He recorded 10 saves or more in eight matches and posted a career-high 15 saves in UCLA's 9-5 win over USC.

Johnson, a utility player from Mission Viejo, Calif., received All-MPSF honors for the second consecutive season - he captured honorable mention accolades last fall. Johnson scored 31 goals, the fourth-highest total on the team, in all 28 matches. He found the back of the cage in 22 contests, recording six multiple-goal efforts.

UC Irvine's Tim Hutten earned MPSF Player of the Year accolades and UC Santa Barbara's Milos Golic captured Newcomer of the Year honors. Long Beach State's Gavin Arroyo and UC Irvine's Marc Hunt were named MPSF co-Coaches of the Year.

UCLA concluded its season with a 15-8 victory in the fifth-place game of the MPSF Tournament on Sunday, Nov. 25, at California's Spieker Aquatics Center. The Bruins posted a 21-7 overall record and a 5-3 MPSF mark.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events