No. 9 Women's Tennis Takes 5-2 Win over Arizona

April 5, 2013

Tucson, Ariz. - The No. 9 UCLA women's tennis team improved to 14-4 overall and 5-2 in the Pac-12 on Friday, dispatching of Arizona, 5-2 at the Robson Tennis Center in Tucson.

UCLA switched up its doubles lineup in Friday's match, playing with three new combinations. The Bruins were still able to find success, rolling to wins on all three courts to claim the one point awarded for doubles play.

Kyle McPhillips to step into the No. 1 role. The move up in the lineup didn't faze her, as she downed Lacey Smith, 6-0, 7-5. UCLA would also get straight-set singles wins from Catherine Harrison (court No. 3) and Kaitlin Ray (court No. 5).

Sophomore Skylar Morton was extended to a match tiebreaker at court No. 6, eventually prevailing 5-7, 6-4, (10-8) over Susan Mc Rann.

The Bruins will be in action again tomorrow, facing No. 22 ASU at Noon in Tempe, Ariz.

#74 UCLA 5, #9 Arizona 2
Apr 05, 2013 at Tucson, AZ (Robson Tennis Center)

Doubles
1. McPhillips/Morton (UCLA) def. Austin/Smyth (ARIZ) 8-4
2. Robin Anderson/Dolehide (UCLA) def. James/Stubbe (ARIZ) 8-0
3. Harrison/Montez (UCLA) def. Mc Rann/Oldham (ARIZ) 8-4
UCLA Wins Doubles Point

Singles
1. Kyle McPhillips (UCLA) def. Lacey Smyth (ARIZ) 6-0, 7-5
2. Kim Stubbe (ARIZ) def. Pamela Montez (UCLA) 6-0, 6-1
3. Catherine Harrison (UCLA) def. Susan Oldham (ARIZ) 6-2, 7-6
4. Akilah James (ARIZ) def. Courtney Dolehide (UCLA) 6-1, 1-6, 6-1
5. Kaitlin Ray (UCLA) def. Shayne Austin (ARIZ) 7-5, 6-3
6. Skylar Morton (UCLA) def. Susan Mc Rann (ARIZ) 5-7, 6-4, 1-0 (10-8)

Match Notes
UCLA 14-4; 5-2 Pac-12; National ranking #74
Arizona 9-10; 1-5 Pac-12; National ranking #9
Order of finish: Doubles (2,1,3); Singles (2,3,1,5,6,4)

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS