UCLA Finishes Second at Fall Preview

Oct. 25, 2009

The top-ranked UCLA women's golf team finished second Sunday at the NCAA Fall Preview at the Country Club of Landfall in Wilmington, NC.

The Bruins lost an eight-shot second round lead by posting a final round score of 299 (+11) to tie with Auburn at 882 (+18). Duke posted an even par round of 288 and finished atop the leaderboard at 881 (+17). Arizona State placed fourth at 889 (+25), followed by fifth-place Virginia at 891 (+27).

Individually for the Bruins, sophomore All-American Stephanie Kono posted a final round score of 73 (+1) and tied for fifth place at 217 (+1). One under par through 15 holes in the final round, Kono bogeyed two of her final three holes to finish seven strokes behind the leader.

Sophomore Brianna Do and senior Sydnee Michaels each tied for 20th at 222 (+6). Do posted a score of 74 (+2) in the final round and Michaels carded a 75 (+3). Freshman Tiffany Lua posted a 77 (+5) on Sunday and tied for 24th at 223 (+7). Junior Glory Yang tied for 47th at 228 (+12) after signing for a score of 81 (+12).

Auburn's Cydney Clanton won the event with a six-under par score of 210 after firing her third consecutive round of 70 (-2).

For more information, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Friday, May 06
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Saturday, May 07
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
3rd (+1, 865)
Friday, May 20
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Saturday, May 21
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Sunday, May 22
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Monday, May 23
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
1st (-8, 1,144)
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Oregon
Eugene, OR
Won 4-0-1
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Washington
Eugene, OR
Lost 3-1-1
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS