NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
UCLA's Hohl, Murphy Earn Men's Water Polo All-America Honors

Jan. 31, 2011

2010 Media Guide (Viewable) | 2010 Media Guide (PDF)

BREA, Calif. - Seniors Ben Hohl and Jacob Murphy of the UCLA men's water polo team have been named first-team and third-team ACWPC All-America selections, respectively, by the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches over the weekend.

Sophomore Josh Samuels and freshman Cristiano Mirarchi have earned honorable mention ACWPC All-America acclaim for the first time in their respective careers.

Each of the three ACWPC All-America teams includes seven selections. In addition, the ACWPC recognizes 33 honorable mention awardees.

Hohl, a second-team All-MPSF honoree in the fall, captured second-team All-America honors in 2009 as a junior. He finished the 2010 men's water polo season first on UCLA's team with 42 goals. He also tallied a team-leading 12 assists and led the Bruins with goals in 18 matches (13 multiple-goal games). Hohl ranked ninth among MPSF field players with 1.83 goals per game in 2010.

Murphy captured All-America acclaim for the first time in his four-year career. A senior from Corona del Mar, Calif., Murphy was one of nine first-team All-MPSF selections in 2010. He finished his senior campaign with 25 goals and a team-leading 38 earned exclusions. Murphy scored in 16 matches in 2010, including five of the Bruins' final six games.

Samuels, a sophomore from Villa Park, Calif., scored 27 goals in 2010, the third-highest total for UCLA. He led the Bruins with 24 steals and added 12 blocks and seven assists.

Mirarchi, a freshman from Rome, Italy, finished second on the team with 35 goals in 2010. In 24 matches, he averaged 1.46 goals per game, the 17th highest mark among MPSF field players (fifth-highest among freshmen). Mirarchi also added six steals and six assists. He was one of 14 honorable mention All-MPSF selections at the end of the season.

California's Ivan Rackov captured NCAA Division I Player of the Year honors, and USC's Jovan Vavic was named the NCAA Division I Coach of the Year.

UCLA finished the season with a 19-6 overall record and fourth-place finish in the MPSF Tournament.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events