UCLA Falls to USC, 6-1 in Men's Tennis Action

March 3, 2010

LOS ANGELES - The sixth-ranked UCLA men's tennis team lost to its cross-town rival for the second time this season on Wednesday, as No. 5 USC posted a 6-1 victory over the Bruins at the Los Angeles Tennis Center.

Similar to USC's victory over UCLA at the ITA National Team Indoors in mid-February, the doubles point was fiercely contested on Wednesday, as an 8-5 Trojan victory at court No. 1 was quickly followed up by an 8-6 Bruin win at court No. 2. The doubles point was eventually decided at court No. 3, where USC's Peter Lucassen and Jaak Poldma edged Matt Brooklyn and Kallim Stewart, 8-6.

Things didn't look good for the Bruins early on in singles either, as USC (12-1) took the first set in five of six matches. The Trojans would go ahead 2-0 when Steve Johnson downed Holden Seguso, 6-2, 6-4 at court No. 2.

Nick Meister was the lone bright spot for UCLA (6-3) early on, as he cut the lead to 2-1 with a 6-3, 6-3 win over Lucassen at court No. 5.

Despite forcing third sets in three of the matches that UCLA was trailing, the Bruins couldn't get another point on the day. Poldma downed Amit Inbar, 6-2, 4-6, 6-4 at court No. 3, giving the Trojans a 3-1 advantage. Matt Kecki got the clincher at court No. 6, dispatching of Bruin freshman Maxime Tabatruong, 6-0, 4-6, 6-4.

UCLA, which still leads the all-time series with the Trojans 68-36, has dominated USC at home in recent years. In fact, Wednesday's Trojan win was their first at the Los Angeles Tennis Center since 1991.

Several UCLA doubles teams will be traveling to La Jolla, Calif. this week for the Pacific Coast Doubles Championships at the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club. UCLA's next dual match will be against Duke on Tuesday, March 9. That match is scheduled for 1:30 p.m. at the Los Angeles Tennis Center.

#5 USC 6, #6 UCLA 1
Mar 03, 2010 at Los Angeles, CA (Los Angeles Tennis Center)

Doubles
1. #13 Farah/Johnson (USC) def. Abid/Seguso (UCLA) 8-5
2. Inbar/Meister (UCLA) def. #40 Jason McNaughton/Nguyen (USC) 8-6
3. Lucassen/Poldma (USC) def. #57 Brooklyn/Kallim Stewart (UCLA) 8-6
USC Wins Doubles Point

Singles
1. #9 Robert Farah (USC) def. #40 Haythem Abid (UCLA) 6-4, 4-6, 6-3
2. #3 Steve Johnson (USC) def. Holden Seguso (UCLA) 6-2, 6-4
3. #93 Jaak Poldma (USC) def. #92 Amit Inbar (UCLA) 6-2, 4-6, 6-4
4. #116 Daniel Nguyen (USC) def. #50 Matt Brooklyn (UCLA) 5-7, 6-2, 6-1
5. #118 Nick Meister (UCLA) def. #76 Peter Lucassen (USC) 6-3, 6-3
6. Matt Kecki (USC) def. Maxime Tabatruong (UCLA) 6-0, 4-6, 6-4

Match Notes
USC 12-1; National ranking #5
UCLA 6-3; National ranking #6
Order of finish: Doubles (1,2,3); Singles (2,5,3,6,1,4)

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09 - 3:00 PM PST
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. USTA/ITA National ...
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS