No. 15 UCLA Nearly Upsets Top-Ranked Stanford

Feb. 17, 2007

Stanford, Calif. - Stanford's Anne Yelsey and Lindsay Burdette recorded wins at Nos. 2 and 6 singles to give the top-ranked Cardinal a come-from-behind win over No. 15 UCLA in a women's tennis showdown at the Taube Tennis Center on Saturday. Stanford, now 5-1 overall, trailed 3-2 with two singles matches remaining, leaving the match in the hands of Yelsey and Burdette. UCLA falls to 5-4 overall with the loss.

Yelsey defeated UCLA's Tracy Lin, the No. 61 ranked player in the country, 6-2, 6-7, 7-6 while Burdette, who is ranked No. 39, won at No. 6 singles by defeating UCLA's Elizabeth Lumpkin, 2-6, 7-6, 6-1. Stanford took a 1-0 lead after doubles play, but the Bruins recorded wins at the Nos. 1, 3 and 5 positions to take the lead.

At No. 1 singles, Stanford's Theresa Logar was beaten by UCLA's Riza Zalameda, 1-6, 6-1, 6-0. Zalameda is ranked No. 35 while Logar is No. 89. Stanford's other victory in singles came at No. 4 when Jessica Nguyen handed UCLA's Ashley Joelson a 6-3, 6-4 defeat.

UCLA returns to the Los Angeles Tennis Center next week, hosting Loyola Marymount on Thursday at 1:30 p.m.

Doubles

Pos.OpponentsScore
1.Durkin/Yelsey (Stan) def. McGoodwin/Zalameda (UCLA)9-8
2.Joelson/Schnack (UCLA) def. Burdette/Nguyen (Stan)9-7
3.Deason/Logar (Stan) def. Anna-Viktoria Lind/Stephanie Wetmore(UCLA)8-3
Stanford Wins Doubles Point

Singles

Pos.OpponentsScore
1.(35) Riza Zalameda (UCLA) def. (89) Theresa Logar (Stan)1-6, 6-1, 6-0
2.Anne Yelsey (Stan) def. (61) Tracy Lin (UCLA)6-2, 6-7, 6-2
3.(28) Yasmin Schnack (UCLA) def. (13) Celia Durkin (Stan)7-5, 7-6
4.(8) Jessica Nguyen (Stan) def. (40) Ashley Joelson (UCLA)6-3, 6-4
5.Alex McGoodwin (UCLA) def. Whitney Deason (Stan)6-1, 6-0
6.(39) Lindsay Burdette (Stan) def. Elizabeth Lumpkin (UCLA)2-6, 7-6, 6-1

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS