UCLA Women's Water Polo Earns Two Academic All-MPSF Selections

May 29, 2009

WOODLAND, Calif. - UCLA sophomores Kelly Easterday and Katie Estrada of the women's water polo team have earned Academic All-MPSF honors, as announced by the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation on Friday afternoon. Easterday and Estrada have both secured the conference's academic honor for the first time in their respective college careers.

Easterday, a sophomore defender hailing from Santa Barbara, Calif., helped lead UCLA to its fifth consecutive NCAA title with 12 goals in 2009. A key defender for the Bruins, Easterday scored one goal in each of UCLA's first two NCAA Tournament games in May (vs. Marist and Stanford).

Estrada, a sophomore center from Coronado, Calif., registered eight goals for the Bruins in 2009. She twice netted a season-high two goals during the regular season and added one goal in UCLA's 12-11 last-second victory over Stanford in the NCAA Tournament semifinals (May 9).

Student-athletes must compile a 3.0 or better cumulative grade point average to remain eligible for Academic All-MPSF honors. In addition, student-athletes must be at least of sophomore standing academically and must have competed in 50 percent or more of the team's competition.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Hawai'i
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 13 - 8
Saturday, Jan 23
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 8 - 5
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Long Beach State
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 4
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Michigan
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 7
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. USA Scrimmage
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 13
Saturday, Feb 13 - 8:30 AM PST
vs. Sonoma State
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - TBA PST
vs. Loyola Marymount or ...
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 10:50 AM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Ann Arbor, MI
Saturday, Mar 05 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. George Washington
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 7:40 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:40 PM PST
vs. Bucknell
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 20 - 1:00 PM PST
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 12:15 PM PST
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 1:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Bakersfield, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS