UCLA Baskeball Downs UC Davis, 82-39

Dec. 17, 2011

Box Score (HTML) | Box Score (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader | Photo Gallery

ANAHEIM, Calif. - Joshua Smith recorded his first double-double of the season, scoring a team-high 18 points and collecting 10 rebounds, to lead the UCLA men's basketball team past UC Davis, 82-39, at Honda Center on Saturday afternoon.

UCLA's 43-point win over the Aggies (1-9) marked the team's largest margin of victory since a 51-point victory against Wyoming (113-62) on Dec. 23, 2008.

Sophomore David Wear added 15 points and senior Lazeric Jones netted 12 points and seven assists for the Bruins (5-5).

"We played extremely hard defensively, especially in the first 20 minutes," UCLA head coach Ben Howland said. "We held them to 19 percent shooting in the first half, and the zone was good again today."

UCLA led from the start, staking a 10-0 lead in the first three minutes. The Bruins held the visiting Aggies scoreless through the first 6:24. A jump shot from Eddie Miller at the 14:36 mark put UC Davis on the board, cutting UCLA's margin to 10-2.

The Bruins pushed their cushion to as many as 35 points in the first half, securing a 43-8 lead after a free throw shot from Jerime Anderson with 2:27 to play before intermission.

Leading 11-4 with 13:46 remaining in the first half, the Bruins used an 18-0 scoring run over the game's next 5:08 to command a 29-4 advantage.

UCLA led UC Davis at halftime, 43-15. The Bruins' 28-point cushion at the break marked the team's largest halftime lead since since Nov. 29, 2008, when the Bruins led Florida International by 33 points (46-13) after the first half.

"I tried to be aggressive today, especially when I saw the double teams coming slowly," said Smith, who led UCLA with 12 points in the first half. "I felt great out there, much different from the first game [of the season]. I played 21 minutes, but felt like I could have gone for 10 more."

David Wear registered 11 of his 15 points in the first half, making five of six shots before halftime.

"We also did a better job on the boards with 50 total rebounds, especially [Norman] Powell, who got 10," Howland said. "Tyler Lamb had a great game for us also and added strong defense. Anthony Stover's five blocks really energized us, and we'll find a way to get him more minutes."

UCLA forward Travis Wear sat out his second straight game due to a skin infection on his left foot. Junior swingman De'End Parker missed his eighth game in a row because of tendinitis in his knee.

Tyler Les had a team-high nine points UC Davis, a team that has lost six straight contests and played for the first time since a 74-61 loss at Hawaii on Sunday.

UCLA returns to action against UC Irvine on Tuesday, Dec. 20. Game time at the Los Angeles Sports Arena is slated for 7:30 p.m. Tuesday's game will be televised live by Fox Sports Prime Ticket.



EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 77
Sunday, Dec 06
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 76
Saturday, Dec 12
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
W, 71 - 66
Tuesday, Dec 15
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
W, 89 - 80
Saturday, Dec 19
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
L, 76 - 89
Tuesday, Dec 22
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 67 - 53
Friday, Jan 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 93 - 96 (2OT)
Sunday, Jan 03
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 78 - 85
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 84
Saturday, Jan 09
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 74
Wednesday, Jan 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 75 - 89
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 82 - 73
Saturday, Jan 23
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 72 - 86
Thursday, Jan 28
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 84 - 86
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 50
Thursday, Feb 04
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 61 - 80
Friday, Feb 12
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 75 - 81
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 10 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 8:30 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Saturday, Mar 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 15 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Four
Dayton, OH
Thursday, Mar 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Saturday, Mar 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
Monday, Apr 04 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS