Bruin Tennis Teams Continue Play This Week

March 24, 2008

Bruin Men to Host Loyola Marymount Before Heading North
The No. 6 UCLA men's tennis team (12-1) will host Loyola Marymount (7-7) at the Los Angeles Tennis Center this Tuesday beginning at 2:00 p.m. The match was just recently added after rain forced both schools to cancel matches with other teams earlier in the season. Following its encounter with LMU, UCLA will then head to the Pacific Northwest to open up Pac-10 play against Washington (11-4) and Oregon (10-7). The Bruins will face the Huskies on Friday at 1:30 p.m. in Seattle, followed by a match with the Ducks in Eugene, Ore., on Saturday at 1:00 p.m.

UCLA women to Face Hawai'i and Oregon
The No. 8 UCLA women's tennis team (12-4; 2-0 Pac-10) has been in Honolulu since Saturday and is scheduled to take on Hawai'i (0-14) this Tuesday at 11:00 a.m. (HST). The Bruins opened up last year's season against the Rainbow Wahine at the Los Angeles Tennis Center, taking a 7-0 win. UCLA will continue Pac-10 action this Saturday, hosting Oregon (9-8; 2-1 Pac-10) at the LATC beginning at Noon. The Bruins take a perfect 11-0 record against the Ducks into the conference showdown. Live stats for the match can be accessed by clicking HERE

Bruins in the ITA Rankings
Both Bruin teams are ranked in the top 10 of the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Rankings, with the men checking in at No. 6 and the women holding the No. 8 spot. New team rankings will be released on Tuesday. Individual rankings for both teams are as follows:

MEN
Singles
#21 - Mathieu Dehaine
#30 - Harel Srugo
#31 - Holden Seguso
#100 - Haythem Abid

Doubles
#37 - Nick Meister / Harel Srugo

WOMEN
Singles
#7 - Riza Zalameda
#47 - Tracy Lin
#48 - Yasmin Schnack
#50 - Andrea Remynse
#82 - Elizabeth Lumpkin

Doubles
#6 - Tracy Lin / Riza Zalameda
#15 - Yasmin Schnack / Riza Zalameda
#39 - Elizabeth Lumpkin / Stephanie Wetmore

New team rankings will be available starting Tuesday by clicking HERE

Showdowns with USC Set for April 18
Both the men's and women's tennis teams will be in action against USC on April 18. The Bruin women will host the Women of Troy at the Los Angeles Tennis Center beginning at 1:30 p.m. Meanwhile, the Bruin men will travel across town to the Marks Tennis Stadium for a 3:00 p.m. showdown. Both matches, which could decide this year's Pac-10 champion, will also be very important in the race for the Lexus Gauntlet Trophy. After taking two wins earlier this season, (each win was worth 2.5 points) the Bruins are looking to wrap up the total of five points given for each sport. USC currently leads the all-sports race 45-32.5.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS