Golfers One Shot Back Entering the Third Round at NCAA Championship

May 29, 2008

The fourth-ranked UCLA men's golf team was in second place, one stroke behind the leader, at the halfway point of the 111th NCAA Championship hosted by Purdue at its Kampen Course in West Lafayette, Ind.

The Bruins improved their score from the first round, posting a five-over par round of 293 for a 36-hole total of 590 (+14). They were one shot behind first place Clemson, which posted one of two even par rounds on the day and led the 30-team field at 589 (+13). Top-ranked USC was third at 591 (+15), followed by Florida at 593 (+17) and fifth-place Oklahoma State at 594 (+18).

Individually for UCLA, senior Kevin Chappell remained in the hunt for the lead, although he fell out of first place. At 142 (-2), Chappell was tied for fourth, three shots behind Florida's Billy Horschel, who fired a five-under par 67 and assumed the 36-hole lead at 139 (-5). The UCLA All-American had many opportunities, but couldn't convert.

"I had a birdie putt on literally every hole, but I didn't putt (well)," he said.

Chappell was two-under par after 14 holes, five-under for the tournament, before playing his final four holes in three-over par, including a double-bogey at the 18th.

Junior Lucas Lee atoned for Wednesday's seven-over par round with an even par 72 in the second round and was tied for 44th with teammate Erik Flores at 151 (+7). Like Chappell, Lee was two-under for the day after consecutive birdies at the 14th and 15th holes, only to give it back with bogeys at 16 and 18. Freshman Philip Francis posted a solid round of 73 (+1) and was tied for 24th at 149 (+5). Senior Craig Leslie fell into a tie for 96th at 156 (+12) following a second round score of 80 (+8).

The average score for the second round was 75.33 with the ninth and 18th holes each playing more than a half a stroke above par.

The field will be cut to the top 15 teams following the third round. The Bruins will tee off from the first hole Friday with Clemson and USC at 7 a.m. EDT.

For the complete results click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
2nd (-27, 837)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
8th (+30, 894)
Monday, Feb 29
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Monday, Mar 07
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Tuesday, Mar 08
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Wednesday, Mar 09
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
15th (+60, 924)
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Friday, Mar 25
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
T-14th (+31, 871)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
9th (+39, 1,089)
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Story
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Story
Sunday, May 01
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
8th (+45, 1,465)
Monday, May 16 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Kohler, WI
Tuesday, May 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Kohler, WI
Wednesday, May 18 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Kohler, WI
Friday, May 27 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Saturday, May 28 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Monday, May 30 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Tuesday, May 31 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Wednesday, Jun 01 - 2:10 PM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS