Women's Tennis Downs Wisconsin, 6-1 at Team Indoors

Feb. 2, 2007

Madison, Wisc. - A day after falling to Northwestern in the opening-round of the USTA/ITA National Team Indoors, the 14th-ranked UCLA women's tennis team came back strong on Friday to post a 6-1 victory over host Wisconsin at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium. The Bruins, who improve to 3-1 on the year, have one more consolation match, as they will face No. 18 Clemson at 9:00 a.m. (CST) on Saturday.

Unlike in their match with Northwestern a day earlier, UCLA was able to claim the doubles point on Friday, as Tracy Lin and Elizabeth Lumpkin clinched an 8-2 victory over Kaylan Caiati/Nicole Beck at court No. 3.

UCLA moved out to a 2-0 lead when freshman Yasmin Schnack, ranked 28th nationally, lost just one game en route to a 6-1, 6-0 victory over Caiati at court No. 1. Sophomore Anna-Viktoria Lind extended the lead to 3-0 when she downed Morgan Tuttle, 7-5, 6-2 at court No. 5.

The match was clinched at court No. 3, where senior captain Alex McGoodwin registered a 4-6, 6-1, 6-2 win over Morgan Tuttle. Riza Zalameda and Stephanie Wetmore were also singles winners for UCLA on Friday.

Doubles

Pos.OpponentsScore
1.(17) Schnack/Zalameda (UCLA) def. Caitlin Burke/Carpenter (UW)3-0, Ret.
2.Nusslock/Tuttle (UW) def. Ashley Joelson /McGoodwin (UCLA)8-5
3.Tracy Lin /Lumpkin (UCLA) def. Caiati/Nicole Beck (UW)8-2
UCLA Wins Doubles Point

Singles

Pos.OpponentsScore
1.(28) Yasmin Schnack (UCLA) def. Kaylan Caiati (UW)6-1, 6-0
2.(35) Riza Zalameda (UCLA) def. Liz Carpenter (UW)6-1, 6-4
3.Alex McGoodwin (UCLA) def. Chelsea Nusslock (UW)4-6, 6-1, 6-2*
4.Erin Jobe (UW) def. Elizabeth Lumpkin (UCLA)Walkover
5.Anna-Viktoria Lind (UCLA) def. Morgan Tuttle (UW)7-5, 6-2
6.Stephanie Wetmore (UCLA) def. Kim Roberts (UW)6-0, 6-2
* Denotes Clinching Match -- Order of Finish: 1, 5, 3, 4, 2, 6

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS