Kohlloeffel Moves into Semifinals at ITA Indoors

Nov. 3, 2006

Columbus, Ohio - UCLA's Benjamin Kohlloeffel won two singles matches Friday to advance to the semifinals of the 2006 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships at the Racquet Club of Columbus.

Kohlloeffel, the top-seed and defending champion at the Indoors, opened up the day with a 6-2, 6-4 victory over Ohio State's Justin Kronauge in the round of 16. He followed that up with a 6-1, 6-3 decision against Old Dominion's Harel Srugo in the quarterfinals. Kohlloeffel's opponent in Saturday's semifinals will either be Todd Paul of Wake Forest or Ivan Puchkarov of Oklahoma State.

Kohlloeffel, who is the only seeded player left in the draw, is looking to become the first back-to-back champion at the Indoors since Sargis Sargsian of Arizona State won it back in 1994 and '95.

In women's consolation singles action, UCLA's Riza Zalameda and Yasmin Schnack each won matches Friday. Zalameda was a 6-1, 6-3 winner over Notre Dame's Colleen Rielley, while Schnack downed Notre Dame's Cismina Ciobanu by the same score.

The official site of the ITA Indoors can be accessed by clicking HERE.

Southern California Intercollegiate Update (LA Tennis Club)

Quarterfinals (Friday)
Michael Look def. Philip Therp (UCSB) - 62, 64
(2) Mathieu Dehaine def. Mark Contreras (UC Riverside) - 62, 64
(4) Bijan Hejazi (UCSB) def. Jeremy Drean - 26, 61, 61

Semifinals (Saturday)
(2) Mathieu Dehaine vs. (4) Bijan Hejazi (UCSB) - 11:00 a.m.
Michael Look vs. (3) Richard johnson (Pepperdine) - 12:30 p.m.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Feb 27
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
W, 4 - 3
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, May 13
vs. Weber State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, May 14
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, May 20
vs. Stanford
Tulsa, OK
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Oklahoma
Tulsa, OK
L, 3 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS