Amit Inbar Named UCLA/Muscle Milk Student-Athlete of the Week

Oct. 26, 2009

Junior Amit Inbar (Tel Aviv, Israel) of the UCLA men's tennis team was selected as the UCLA/Muscle Milk Student-Athlete of the Week for Oct. 19-25.

Inbar concluded his splendid run at the ITA West/South Regional Championships on Oct. 20 by posting a straight-set victory in the singles final at Pepperdine's Ralphs-Straus Tennis Center. Inbar, who won six matches over the course of the event, recorded a 7-5, 6-3 win over Alex Llompart of Pepperdine in Tuesday's championship match. He becomes the first UCLA player to win an ITA Regional singles title since Benjamin Kohlloeffel was a back-to-back winner in 2004 and 2005. With the win, Inbar earns an automatic berth into the main draw of next month's ITA Intercollegiate Indoor Championships. The tournament is slated to take place Nov. 5-8 in West Haven, Conn.

This is Inbar's first UCLA/Muscle Milk Student-Athlete of the Week honor of the season and first of his career.

Also nominated: Brittany Beauchan, W. Swimming & Diving; Stephanie Kono, W. Golf; Kyle Nakazawa, M. Soccer; Kaitlin Sather, W. Volleyball


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, May 13
vs. Weber State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, May 14
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, May 20
vs. Stanford
Tulsa, OK
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Oklahoma
Tulsa, OK
L, 3 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS