Golfers Finish in 3rd Place at Pac-10 Championship

April 19, 2011

Tempe, AZ -

Follow UCLA Athletics on Twitter
UCLA Athletics on Facebook

The No. 1 ranked UCLA women's golf team took home third place at the Pac-10 Championship, securing their 10th straight podium finish at the event under Head Coach Carrie Forsyth.

The Bruins shot a final round 289 (+1) to give them a total score of 873 (+9) for the tournament. The USC Trojans won the Pac-10 title after posting a team score of 864 (E). Arizona finished in 2nd place with a score of 869 (+5) while Cal captured 4th place at 880 (+16). Stanford rounded out the top five with a score of 884 (+20).

Individually, sophomore Tiffany Lua finished tied for first at the tournament, after posting a final round 70 (-2) to give her an overall score of 210 (-6). She finished tied for the lead with Sophia Popov of USC after 54 holes, but fell on the 1st playoff hole to Popov after she bogeyed the 18th hole and Popov parred it. This was Tiffany's 4th top five finish of the year, which leads the team, and her second top five finish in a row. As for the rest of the Bruins, junior Stephanie Kono recorded a 74 (+2) for her round to finish tied for 15th at 221 (+5). Freshman Ani Gulugian posted a final round 72 (E) and finished tied for 17th at 222 (+6). Senior Glory Yang shot a third round 75 (+3) to give her a total score of 223 (+7), good for 19th place. Finally, sophomore Lee Lopez shot a 73 (+1) for her round to finish tied for 22nd place at 225 (+9).

The Bruins will now prepare for the NCAA Regionals that take place from Thursday, May 5th to Saturday, May 7th. The team will learn where it is playing and its seeding on Monday, April 25th.

For complete results from the Pac-10 Championship, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Monday, Feb 29
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
1st (+4, 868)
Monday, Mar 21
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Wednesday, Mar 23
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
3rd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Friday, May 06
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Saturday, May 07
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
3rd (+1, 865)
Friday, May 20
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Saturday, May 21
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Sunday, May 22
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Monday, May 23
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
1st (-8, 1,144)
Tuesday, May 24 - 7:50 AM PST
vs. Oregon
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS