Averill's Homer Leads UCLA to 13-11 Victory

Feb. 14, 2004

Box Score

Brandon Averill's three-run home run in the bottom of the eighth inning would prove to be enough to lift UCLA (3-0) to a 13-11 win over Fresno State (2-4) on Saturday afternoon.

The Bruins trailed 11-7 heading into the bottom of the seventh inning after a two-run homer from Brandon Marcelli capped a three-run frame for the Bulldogs. However, the Bruin offense was not done, as Matt Thayer and Brett McMillan both walked to lead off the bottom of the inning. After a wild pitch advanced the runners, Averill would bring both across home plate with a single to left field. After seven, UCLA trailed 11-9.

Walk-on freshman Kevin Brophy threw a 1-2-3 eighth inning to put the Bruins in position to take back the lead. The right-hander from Menifee picked up his first collegiate win in his first outing. He pitched 2.1 innings for UCLA, allowing no runs on two hits with no walks.

Billy Susdorf would start the eighth inning rally with a one-out bunt single. Wes Whisler followed with a single through the right side, while Thayer singled to load the bases. McMillan drove in Susdorf with a sacrifice fly, bringing the Bulldog advantage to one run. After Mike Svetlic came in to run for Whisler, Averill hit the game-winner for UCLA.

After Ryan Haag flew out to right field in the ninth, Svetlic would scale a chain link fence and reach into the Bruin bullpen to catch a foul pop-up from Richie Robnett for the second out of the frame. Reliever Kyle Wilson earned the save after striking out Tom Shannon with two runners on to clinch the victory.

Redshirt freshman Jarrad Page provided another offensive highlight for UCLA, hitting a solo home run to lead off the bottom of the first inning in his first collegiate at-bat. The last Bruin to accomplish that feat was Friday night's starter Casey Janssen.

On the mound, sophomore right-hander Scott Botterman was solid in relief work, recording two strikeouts in 3.2 innings of action.

Averill finished the day with six RBI, while Susdorf went 4-for-5 with three doubles. Catcher Chris Denove drove in four runs, while going 3-for-5 at the plate. Thayer was 3-for-3 with three runs scored.

The Bruins and Bulldogs will face-off again on Sunday in the final game of the three-game series. Bryan Beck will get the start for UCLA. Game time is set for 1:00 pm at Jackie Robinson Stadium.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 19
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 14
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 10
Friday, Feb 26
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 7 - 6
Saturday, Feb 27
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 19 - 0
Sunday, Feb 28
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
L, 2 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 01
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
L, 6 - 11
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 3 (14)
Tuesday, Mar 08
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
L, 12 - 20
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 7
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Mar 18
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5 (12)
Sunday, Mar 20
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 11 - 2
Thursday, Mar 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Mar 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 14 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 17 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS