Johnson, McLachlin Eliminated at U.S. Amateur

Aug. 21, 2003

Bruins Travis Johnson and Parker McLachlin were eliminated in the second round of match play competition at the 103rd U.S. Amateur Championship at Oakmont Country Club in Oakmont, PA.

McLachlin, who began his match at 7:25 a.m. EDT, lost 1-up to Patrick Carter of Huntington, W. Virginia. Johnson, who teed off at 8:55, lost 3 and 1 to Jason Hartwick of Sacramento.

McLachlin was 2-up after seven holes, but Carter sqaured the match with a birdie at the 252-yard, par 3 eighth and a par at the 477-yard par 4 ninth. The players halved the next three holes before Carter moved ahead with a birdie at the par 3 13th. The 14th was halved, and McLachlin squared the match with a par at the 499-yard par 4 15th. Both players parred the next two holes, but McLachlin's double-bogey six at the 18th gave Carter the victory.

Birdies on the first two holes gave Johnson a 2-up lead before Hartwick parred the third hole and birdied the par 5, 609-yard fourth to sqaure the match. Johnson's par at the fifth gave him a 1-up lead until the eighth where he made bogey to Hartwick's par. Hartwick parred the ninth to take a 1-up lead which stood until the 14th hole. At 14, his par beat Johnson's bogey for a 2-hole advantage with four to play. Johnson parred the 15th to cut the lead to one hole, but he bogeyed 16 to give Hartwick a two-hole advantage with two to play. Hartwick won the match at 17 with a par to Johnson's bogey.

For complete results click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 12 - All Day PST
vs. Northern ...
Sugar Grove, IL
Sunday, Sep 13 - All Day PST
vs. Northern ...
Sugar Grove, IL
Sunday, Oct 04 - All Day PST
vs. Erin Hills ...
Erin, WI
Monday, Oct 05 - All Day PST
vs. Erin Hills ...
Erin, WI
Tuesday, Oct 06 - All Day PST
vs. Erin Hills ...
Erin, WI
Friday, Oct 16 - All Day PST
vs. United States ...
Alpharetta, GA
Saturday, Oct 17 - All Day PST
vs. United States ...
Alpharetta, GA
Sunday, Oct 18 - All Day PST
vs. United States ...
Alpharetta, GA
Monday, Nov 02 - All Day PST
vs. Gifford Collegiate
Carlsbad, CA
Tuesday, Nov 03 - All Day PST
vs. Gifford Collegiate
Carlsbad, CA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - All Day PST
vs. Gifford Collegiate
Carlsbad, CA
Saturday, Nov 07 - All Day PST
vs. All-American
El Paso, TX
Sunday, Nov 08 - All Day PST
vs. All-American
El Paso, TX
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS