Seven Bruins Named to All-Pac-12 Gymnastics Team

March 27, 2012

Seven members of the Pac-12 Champion UCLA Gymnastics squad were named to the 2012 Pac-12 All-Conference team, and Valorie Kondos Field was voted the Pac-12 Coach of the Year for the fourth time in her career and first since 2003. UCLA led all conference teams with a total of seven All-Pac-12 team members and eight honors.

The Bruins had at least one gymnast on each event make the All-Pac-12 team. Co-Pac-12 vault champions Olivia Courtney and Vanessa Zamarripa, along with Tauny Frattone, earned first-team honors. This is Courtney's second consecutive vault honor. She also earned first-team honors this season on floor exercise. Zamarripa was an all-around honoree in both 2009 and 2010. Frattone is a three-time All-Pac-12 first-teamer on vault. Aisha Gerber earned first-team honors on uneven bars for the second consecutive year. Pac-12 beam champion Elyse Hopfner-Hibbs received first-team honors on the event for the second time. She had also been an all-around honoree in 2011 and 2009. Samantha Peszek earned second-team acclaim on balance beam to receive her first career all-conference honor. Also receiving her first career all-conference award is Alyssa Pritchett, who earned second-team honors on floor exercise.

The All-Pac-12 team is determined by a combination of 50 percent regional qualifying score (entire season composite leading up to the Pac-12 Championships) and 50 percent Conference Championships score. The All-Conference first team consists of the top six all-around competitors, plus the top three competitors in each individual event who are not among the all-around honorees. The Pac-12 second team consists of the top two all-arounders who were not named to the first team (as all-arounders or in an event), after such the top two gymnasts from each event who were not yet named to the first team or the second team would be selected to the second team.


Pac-12 Gymnast of the Year: Leslie Mak, Oregon State
Pac-12 Freshman of the Year: Georgia Dabritz, Utah
Pac-12 Coach of the Year: Valorie Kondos Field, UCLA

First Team
Corrie Lothrop, Utah (So.)
Makayla Stambaugh, Oregon St. (Jr.)
Stephanie McAllister, Utah (Sr.)
Aubree Cristello, Arizona (Jr.)
Melanie Jones, Oregon St. (Jr.)
Leslie Mak, Oregon St. (Sr.)

Second Team
Beate Jones, Arizona St. (RSr.)
Molly Quirk, Arizona (Jr.)

First Team
Vanessa Zamarripa, UCLA (RJr.)
Olivia Courtney, UCLA (So.)
Kailah Delaney, Utah (Fr.)
Tauny Frattone, UCLA (Sr.)

Second Team
Ivana Hong, Stanford (Fr.)
Kelsi Blalock, Oregon St. (Jr.)

Uneven Bars
First Team
Olivia Vivian, Oregon State (Sr.)
Ashley Morgan, Stanford (Sr.)
Aisha Gerber, UCLA (Sr.)

Second Team
Brittany Harris, Oregon State (So.)
Cortni Beers, Utah (Sr.)

Balance Beam
First Team
Elyse Hopfner-Hibbs, UCLA (Sr.)
Kyndal Robarts, Utah (Sr.)
Katie Matusik, Arizona (Sr.)

Second Team
Shona Morgan, Stanford (So.)
Samantha Peszek, UCLA (So.)

Floor Exercise
First Team
Ashley Morgan, Stanford (Jr.)
Georgia Dabritz, Utah (Fr.)
Olivia Courtney, UCLA (So.)

Second Team
Ruby Engreitz, Washington (Sr.)
Alyssa Pritchett, UCLA (RJr.)

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. NCAA Regionals
Salt Lake City, UT
2nd, 196,375
Friday, Apr 15
vs. NCAA Team Semifinals
Fort Worth, TX
3rd, 196.700
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. NCAA Super Six
Fort Worth, TX
5th, 196.825