Bruins Blank Cougars, 7-0

April 1, 2011

Pullman, Wash.- The sixth-ranked UCLA women's tennis team had little trouble in its Pac-10 match with Washington State on Friday, cruising to a 7-0 road victory at the WSU Outdoor Tennis Courts.

Wins at court Nos. 2 and 3 secured the doubles point for the Bruins, who improved their record to 13-5 overall and 3-1 in Pac-10 play. McCall Jones and Noelle Hickey clinched the point when they downed Andjela Kankaras and Olga Musilovich, 8-2 at court No. 2. UCLA's 13th-ranked duo of Courtney Dolehide and Andrea Remynse were actually upset at court No. 1, however the doubles point had already been decided by that point.

Singles play was much of the same, as Nina Pantic, Carling Seguso, Remynse and Hickey all cruised to straight-set wins. The two closest matches of the day came at court Nos. 1 and 4. Jones needed three sets to down Liudmila Vasilieva, 2-6, 6-1, 6-2 at the top spot, while Dolehide was a 4-6, 6-3, (14-12) winner over Kankaras at the No. 5 position.

UCLA returns to action tomorrow, facing Oregon at Noon in Eugene.

#6 UCLA 7, Washington State 0
Apr 01, 2011 at Pullman, WA (WSU Outdoor Tennis Courts)

Doubles
1. Googe/Vasilieva (WSU) def. #13 Dolehide/Remynse (UCLA) 8-3
2. #27 Hickey/Jones (UCLA) def. Kankaras/Musilovich (WSU) 8-2
3. Pamela Montez/Seguso (UCLA) def. Fournier/Lea Jansen (WSU) 8-3
UCLA Wins Doubles Point

Singles
1. #58 McCall Jones (UCLA) def. Liudmila Vasilieva (WSU) 2-6, 6-1, 6-2
2. #44 Noelle Hickey (UCLA) def. Elisabeth Fournier (WSU) 6-1, 6-2
3. #61 Andrea Remynse (UCLA) def. Ksenia Googe (WSU) 6-1, 6-2
4. #90 Courtney Dolehide (UCLA) def. Andjela Kankaras (WSU) 4-6, 6-3, 1-0 (14-12)
5. Carling Seguso (UCLA) def. Olga Musilovich (WSU) 6-1, 6-2
6. Nina Pantic (UCLA) def. Jessica Gomez (WSU) 6-1, 6-0

Match Notes
UCLA 13-5; 3-1 Pac-10; National ranking #6
Washington State 10-9; 0-6 Pac-10
Order of finish: Doubles (3,2,1); Singles (6,5,2,3,4,1)

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS