UCLA Baseball Falls to California, 8-3

May 10, 2009

Box Score (HTML) | Box Score (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader

LOS ANGELES - The UCLA baseball team dropped an 8-3 decision to California on Sunday afternoon at Jackie Robinson Stadium. Left-hander Matt Grace limited the Golden Bears to two runs and two hits in 4.2 innings of relief, recording a career-high eight strikeouts.

California right-hander Dixon Anderson (1-0) earned his first victory of the season, allowing just one run and seven hits in 6.2 innings of relief. UCLA right-hander Charles Brewer (3-5) was tagged with the loss, surrendering four runs and four hits in 3.2 innings.

UCLA was led at the plate by first baseman Cody Decker, who went 1-for-2 with his team-leading 17th home run, two walks and two RBI. Third baseman Gino Aielli went 2-for-4 for the Bruins (24-24, 14-10 Pac-10).

The Golden Bears (22-27, 8-16) took a 1-0 lead in the top of the first inning before the Bruins tied the game with Decker's solo homer in the bottom of the second.

California added one pair of runs on a two-run homer by second baseman Jeff Kobernus in the third. UCLA answered with one run in the bottom of the inning, as Decker drew a two-out walk with the bases loaded.

The Golden Bears pushed their lead to 4-2 in the top of the fourth. After leading off the frame with a walk, designated hitter Blake Smith scored from second base on a single through the right side.

California added four runs in the ninth inning to assume an 8-2 cushion. The Golden Bears opened the frame with a single to right field and a walk, before third baseman Michael Brady blooped an RBI-single to left field and left fielder Dwight Tanaka belted a two-RBI double to left. After a wild pitch and subsequent pass ball, Tanaka scored.

UCLA scored one two-out run in the ninth inning with an RBI-single to center by right fielder Justin Uribe.

The Bruins return to Jackie Robinson Stadium on Tuesday evening to play Long Beach State. Game time is 6 p.m. A live audio broadcast of Tuesday's game will be available online, free of charge, at uclabruins.com.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS