Thompson, Farmar, Afflalo and Shipp Earn Pac-10 Acclaim

March 7, 2005

UCLA senior forward Dijon Thompson and freshmen Jordan Farmar, Arron Afflalo and Josh Shipp have earned Pacific-10 Conference honors in a vote of the league's 10 coaches.

Thompson has been selected to the All-Pac-10 team. UCLA's leading scorer (18.2) and rebounder (8.1), he ranks third in the Pac-10 in both categories. He leads the Conference in defensive rebounding, averaging. 6.12 boards per contest on the defensive glass. Thompson also paces the Bruins in steals (1.42 spg, 9th Pac-10). He was named the Pac-10 Player of the Week on Dec. 20 after scoring 29 points against Michigan. Thompson scored 39 points on Feb. 10 against ASU, tied for the most in the Conference this season.With 1,415 career points, Thompson ranks 21st in UCLA history.

Farmar has been selected the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year. He is the fifth Bruin to earn Freshman of the Year honors, and the first since Jason Kapono shared the award in 2000. Farmar has started every game at point guard and has done an outstanding job, leading Pac-10 freshmen in scoring (13.5, 13th Pac-10 overall), assists (5.30, 2nd), free throw percentage (.809, 8th), assist to turnover ratio (1.35, 10th) and minutes played (34.19, 5th). He was the only freshman named Pac-10 Player of the Week this year, earning the honor on Dec. 13 after scoring 25 points and hitting the winning shot in UCLA's victory over Pepperdine on Dec. 11.

In addition, Farmar was also an All-Pac-10 honorable mention selection.

Jordan Farmar is the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year

Afflalo joins Farmar on the Pac-10 All-Freshman team. Like Farmar, he has started all 27 games this season in the backcourt. He is third on the Bruins in scoring, averaging 11.0 ppg. He also contributes 3.3 rpg and 2.2 apg and is always assigned an opponent's top scoring threat on defense. In his last four games, he has averaged 15.5 ppg, including a 22-point outburst against USC on Feb. 24.

Shipp was an honorable mention on the All-Freshman team. Shipp averaged 9.0 points (fourth on the team) and 4.9 rebounds (No. 3) while starting 21 of 27 games. His average of 5.1 rebounds in the 18 Pac-10 games was the highest of any freshman. He tied his career high with 20 points against Oregon on Saturday.

"It's very deserving for Dijon to be named first-team All-Pac-10," said head coach Ben Howland. "He's led our team in so many ways, other than just scoring and rebounding. He's been shooting solid percentages and playing great defense. The fact that he's third in the conference in both scoring and rebounding is just an example of his overall consistency throughout the entire season. He's had a great year. I'm happy for Dijon and very proud of him.

"Jordan has had an outstanding freshman season," Howland said. "Playing the point position is so important and tough to do and to have the impact that he's had - he just turned 18 last November - is truly amazing. He has continued to improve throughout the year and is playing his best basketball at the end of the season - which is what you expect from a good player. I'm excited and happy for Jordan.

"Arron and Josh have had great freshman seasons," Howland continued. "It's an honor to have all three of our freshmen acknowledged by the Pac-10. We have the top starting freshmen threesome in the country. They have been very important to each other and very supportive of each other all season long. As a trio - Jordan, Arron and Josh have made a special impression in their first season of college basketball. What's really exciting for me is, as a freshmen trio, their best basketball is yet to come."

"I'm fortunate and thankful to have been chosen as a first-team All-Pac-10 selection," Thompson said. "Before the season started, earning this was one of my goals. But, I know this is not just an individual honor, this is also a team honor. This would not have happened without the help and support from my teammates and coaches. I want to congratulate my freshmen starting teammates for their Pac-10 honors - Freshman of the Year Jordan Farmar, All-Pac-10 Freshman team Arron Afflalo and Honorable Mention All-Pac-10 Freshman team Josh Shipp. Being with them on the same team this year has really been a fun and rewarding experience."

"I'm very honored. It means a lot to me to have my name on the same conference award that has been won by such Bruin greats as Jason Kapono, Baron Davis, Don MacLean and Pooh Richardson," Farmar said. "I just try to do everything possible to help my team win games. I'm happy for Dijon and his first-team All-Pac-10 selection and for Arron and Josh's Pac-10 freshman honors."

Arizona State junior forward Ike Diogu was named the Player of the Year and Lorenzo Romar of Washington was selected Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

The Complete Conference Honors:


Name School Pos Yr Ht Wt Hometown (Last School)

Ike Diogu ASU F/C Jr. 6-8 250 Garland, Texas (Garland HS)

Channing Frye ARIZ C Sr. 6-11 248 Phoenix, Ariz. (St. Mary's HS)

Dan Grunfeld STAN G Jr. 6-6 215 River Hills, Wis. (Nicolet HS)

Chris Hernandez STAN G Jr. 6-2 190 Fresno, Calif. (Clovis West HS) Thomas Kelati WSU G Sr. 6-5 194 Walla Walla, Wash. (Walla Walla HS)

David Lucas OSU F Sr. 6-8 246 Tigard, Ore. (Tigard HS)

Nate Robinson WASH G Jr. 5-9 180 Seattle, Wash. (Rainier Beach HS)

Tre Simmons WASH G Sr. 6-5 195 Seattle, Wash. (Green River CC)

Salim Stoudamire ARIZ G Sr. 6-1 179 Portland, Ore. (Lake Oswego HS)

Dijon Thompson UCLA G/F Sr. 6-7 198 Inglewood, Calif. (Redondo Union HS)

Honorable Mention (also receiving votes): Hassan Adams (ARIZ, Jr., F), Aaron Brooks (ORE, So., G), Will Conroy (WASH, Sr., G), Nick DeWitz (OSU, Jr., F), Jordan Farmar (UCLA, Fr., G), Matt Haryasz (STAN, Jr., F), Brandon Roy (WASH, Jr., G).


Name School Pos Ht Wt Hometown (Last School)

Arron Afflalo UCLA G 6-5 200 Compton, Calif. (Centennial HS)

Jordan Farmar UCLA G 6-2 180 Van Nuys, Calif. (Taft HS)

Malik Hairston ORE G 6-6 200 Detroit, Mich. (Renaissance HS)

Gabe Pruitt USC G 6-4 170 Los Angeles, Calif. (Westchester HS)

Bryce Taylor ORE G 6-5 200 Encino, Calif. (Harvard-Westlake HS)

Honorable Mention (also receiving votes): Robbie Cowgill (WSU, C), Sasa Cuic (OSU, F/C), Derrick Low (WSU, G), Josh Shipp (UCLA, G/F), Joel Smith (WASH, G/F), Nick Young (USC, G/F).

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Ike Diogu, Arizona State


COACH OF THE YEAR: Lorenzo Romar, Washington

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events