Pitchers Duel Breaks Washington's Way as Softball Falls 1-0

May 5, 2004

Final Stats

LOS ANGELES - Keira Goerl turned in one of her best pitching performances of the season, pitching a one-hitter with 10 strikeouts on Wednesday afternoon at Easton Stadium, but it was not enough as UCLA (34-8, 7-7 Pac-10) fell to Washington (35-13, 9-5 Pac-10) by a score of 1-0.

Goerl recorded her first three strikeouts of the game in the first inning, retiring the side via the strikeout. In fact, Goerl retired 12 of the first 14 batters of the game with five K's through the first four innings of play.

The Bruins loaded the bases with no outs in the third inning, as Andrea Duran led off with an infield single, a ball that was kept on the dirt only by an impressive play from Husky shortstop Amanda Oleson. Catilin Benyi, who singled through the left side of the Washington infield, advanced Duran to second base. After Claire Sua was walked to load the bases, Jodie Legaspi hit a fly ball to left field that was too shallow to score Duran from third, before Zaplatosch lined into a double play to end the inning.

The only run of the game came when Washington's Kathy Fiske led off the inning with a home run just over the fence in right center field to give the Huskies a 1-0 lead. That was all the Huskies would need to complete the Pac-10 series sweep of the Bruins.

In the bottom of the sixth inning, UCLA loaded the bases once again, as Claire Sua drew a lead-off walk, followed by a single to left by Jodie Legaspi, who was replaced by pinch runner Ashley Herrera, and a walk to Emily Zaplatosch that loaded the bases. Bruin freshman right fielder Lisa Dodd then stepped in to the batters box and looked at two balls to open the at-bat before Washington head coach Scott Centala came out of the dugout to talk to UW starting pitcher Ashely Boek. Boek got out of the jam, working the count full before getting Dodd to ground into a double play. The pattern repeated as Alissa Eno started off with a 2-0 count in the following at-bat, but Eno was able to draw a walk to re-load the bases. Julie Hoshizaki nearly delivered with a game-tying hit, but Boek was able to stab the ground ball and throw Hoshizaki out at first base to end the inning and the Bruin threat with Washington continuing to lead 1-0 after six complete.

Goerl dominated in the top half of the seventh inning, striking out Fiske and Oleson before getting Courtney Jeffries to line out to end the inning.

In the bottom of the seventh, Stephanie Ramos led off the inning with a hit to deep second base. UW's Dominique Lastrapes made a nice play to keep the ball from bouncing into the outfield, but Ramos was able to beat the throw at first base for her first hit of the day. Duran was unable to get the bunt down in her at-bat and would eventually reach on a fielders choice with Ramos out at second base.

Goerl finished the game with 10 strikeouts, while allowing just three walks, one hit and having hit one batter. Following Fiske's home run, Goerl posted five more strikeouts, including two in the fifth inning and two in the seventh. She falls to 20-6 on the season with the loss in today's game.

The Bruins return to action on Friday afternoon at 2 pm at California. The game will be broadcast on tape-delay, airing on FOX Sports West at 2 am on Sunday, May 9 before airing on FOX Sports West 2 on May 11 at 3 pm and May 14 at 1 pm Pacific Time.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Feb 12
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
L, 1 - 5
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 3:15 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Sunday, Feb 14 - 8:00 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 9:30 AM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Lakewood, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Mar 21 - 4:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:30 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Apr 03 - 2:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 24 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Monday, Apr 25 - 7:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Apr 29 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS