Bruins Earn Fifth Straight NCAA Berth

May 19, 2007

The fourth-ranked UCLA men's golf team earned its fifth consecutive berth into the NCAA Championship Saturday by capturing second place at the NCAA West Regional, hosted by Arizona State at the Karsten Golf Course in Tempe, Ariz.

The Bruins posted a 54-hole school record score of 822 (-42) and finished two shots behind South Carolina, which won its first tournament of the season with a three round total of 820 (-44). USC and ASU tied for third at 40-under par 824, followed by Vanderbilt at 826 (-36). The Commodores fired a final round score of 267 (-21). Arizona finished sixth at 828 (-26), followed by second-ranked Stanford at 831 (-33) and New Mexico at 833 (-31). Wake Forest, East Tennessee State and Oregon State tied for ninth place at 839 (-25) with Wake Forest and ETSU winning the playoff for the final two spots.

Individually for the Bruins, junior Kevin Chappell tied for second place at 15-under par 201 after firing a final round score of 67. Sophomore Erik Flores tied for 23rd at nine-under par 207. Sophomore Lucas Lee tied for 36th at seven-under par 209 after carding and even par score of 72 on Saturday. Junior Daniel Im and freshman Jason Kang tied for 43rd at 211 (-5). Kang posted a two-under par 70 and Im shot even par 72.

The Bruins' fifth consecutive NCAA berth tied the school record set from 1963-67 under Hall of Fame Coach Vic Kelley.

For results click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 12 - All Day PST
vs. Northern ...
Sugar Grove, IL
Sunday, Sep 13 - All Day PST
vs. Northern ...
Sugar Grove, IL
Sunday, Oct 04 - All Day PST
vs. Erin Hills ...
Erin, WI
Monday, Oct 05 - All Day PST
vs. Erin Hills ...
Erin, WI
Tuesday, Oct 06 - All Day PST
vs. Erin Hills ...
Erin, WI
Friday, Oct 16 - All Day PST
vs. United States ...
Alpharetta, GA
Saturday, Oct 17 - All Day PST
vs. United States ...
Alpharetta, GA
Sunday, Oct 18 - All Day PST
vs. United States ...
Alpharetta, GA
Monday, Nov 02 - All Day PST
vs. Gifford Collegiate
Carlsbad, CA
Tuesday, Nov 03 - All Day PST
vs. Gifford Collegiate
Carlsbad, CA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - All Day PST
vs. Gifford Collegiate
Carlsbad, CA
Saturday, Nov 07 - All Day PST
vs. All-American
El Paso, TX
Sunday, Nov 08 - All Day PST
vs. All-American
El Paso, TX
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS