No. 4 Bruins Down Hawai'i, 4-1 in Season Opener

Jan. 30, 2010

LOS ANGELES - The fourth-ranked UCLA men's tennis team won its season opener at the Los Angeles Tennis Center on Saturday, posting a 4-1 victory over Hawai'i in a first round match that was part of ITA Kick-Off Weekend. Next up for the Bruins is a meeting with No. 17 Pepperdine on Sunday at 1:00 p.m. The winner of that match will advance to the ITA National Team Indoors, Feb. 11-14 at the University of Virginia. The Waves beat South Florida, 4-0 in their first round showdown on Saturday.

UCLA started the match strong, taking a pair of quick doubles wins to take a 1-0 lead. In singles, Bruin freshman Maxime Tabatruong showed no signs of nerves in his first dual match for UCLA, easily dispatching of Daniel Llarenas, 6-1, 6-3 at court No. 6.

Hawai'i then cut the lead to 2-1 when Dennis Lajola downed Bruin senior Haythem Abid, 6-3, 6-4 at court No. 1. It was as close as the Warriors would get, however, as Nick Meister (court No. 3) and Amit Inbar (court No. 5) each posted straight-set to give UCLA a 4-1 victory.

When play was suspended, Holden Seguso was down a set and tied at 4-4 in the second set at court No. 2, and Matt Brooklyn was up 3-1 in the second set after winning the first at court No. 4.

ITA Kick-Off Weekend is going on at a number of college campuses across the country.

#4 UCLA 4, #42 Hawaii 1
Jan 30, 2010 at Los Angeles, CA (Los Angeles Tennis Center)

Doubles competition
1. Abid/Seguso (UCLA) def. Lajola/Tweedt (UH) 8-3
2. Inbar/Meister (UCLA) def. Eberhard/Weber (UH) 8-1
3. #36 Brooklyn/Kallim Stewart (UCLA) vs. Llarenas/Rosenberg (UH) 6-3, unfinished
Singles competition
1. Dennis Lajola (UH) def. Haythem Abid (UCLA) 6-3, 6-4
2. Holden Seguso (UCLA) vs. Andreas Weber (UH) 3-6, 4-4, unfinished
3. #118 Nick Meister (UCLA) def. Jeremy Tweedt (UH) 6-4, 6-1
4. Matt Brooklyn (UCLA) vs. Leo Rosenberg (UH) 7-5, 3-1, unfinished
5. #94 Amit Inbar (UCLA) def. Philipp Eberhard (UH) 6-3, 6-3
6. Maxime Tabatruong (UCLA) def. Daniel Llarenas (UH) 6-1, 6-3

Match Notes
Hawaii 3-1; National ranking #42
UCLA 1-0; National ranking #4
Order of finish: Doubles (2,1); Singles (6,1,3,5)

#17 Pepperdine 4, #37 South Florida 0
Jan 30, 2010 at Los Angeles, CA (Los Angeles Tennis Center)

Doubles competition
1. Beidas/Hugh Clarke (PEPP) def. Thomas Estrada/Frank (USF) 8-2
2. #52 Llompart/Tearney (PEPP) vs. Kilani/Yoshizawa (USF) 7-6, unfinished
3. Fanselow/Moss (PEPP) def. Adderley/Mark Oljaca (USF) 8-5

Singles competition
1. #90 Bassam Beidas (PEPP) def. #64 Jamal Adderley (USF) 6-3, 6-4
2. Mousheg Hovhannisyan (PEPP) vs. Wael Kilani (USF) 5-7, 6-0, 1-1, unfinished
3. #70 Alex Llompart (PEPP) vs. Peter Frank (USF) 6-3, 4-6, unfinished
4. #96 Sebastian Fanselow (PEPP) def. Mark Oljaca (USF) 6-4, 6-1
5. Finn Tearney (PEPP) def. Yannick Yoshizawa (USF) 6-4, 6-3
6. Daniel Moss (PEPP) vs. Alex Pukal (USF) 7-6 (7-3), 1-0, unfinished

Match Notes
South Florida 1-2; National ranking #37
Pepperdine 2-0; National ranking #17
Order of finish: Doubles (1,3); Singles (4,5,1)

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Texas A&M
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. North Carolina
Charlottesville, VA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, Feb 27
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
W, 4 - 3
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, May 14 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
TBA
Sunday, May 15 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
TBA
Thursday, May 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
Tulsa, OK
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS