Brett Ormsby Named UCLA/MET-Rx Student-Athlete of the Week

Dec. 6, 2004

Senior attacker Brett Ormsby (El Cajon, CA/Valhalla HS) of the UCLA Men's Water Polo Team was selected as the UCLA/MET-Rx Student-Athlete of the Week for the week of Nov. 29-Dec. 5.

Ormsby helped lead the Bruins to their eighth national title this weekend with victories over Princeton and No. 1 Stanford. In addition to his stellar defensive play, Ormsby contributed three goals over the two matches and was named the NCAA Tournament MVP. His third and most notable goal came with 1:45 remaining in the first overtime period against Stanford and knotted the game 8-8 after the Cardinal had rushed out to an 8-7 lead. Earlier in the match, Orsmby provided what turned out to be a crucial insurance goal with 3:14 left in regulation.

The national championship solidified Ormsby's fine four-year career at UCLA in which he moved into second place on UCLA's all-time goals list (240) and has three times been honored as an All-American with a fourth selection expected later this year.

This is Ormsby's first UCLA/MET-Rx Student-Athlete of the Week honor of the season and of his career.

Also nominated: Arron Afflalo, M. Basketball; Valerie Henderson, W. Soccer; Brynn Murphy, W. Volleyball; Noelle Quinn, W. Basketball.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 05 - 9:20 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Sep 05 - 1:20 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:30 AM PST
vs. Concordia
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 1:50 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 8:00 AM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 11:45 AM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 2:15 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:20 AM PST
at Redlands
Redlands, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Whittier
Redlands, CA
Saturday, Sep 19 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Sep 19 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Sep 20 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Sep 20 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Chapman
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Alumni Match
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 4:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 03 - 12:00 PM PST
at Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 10 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 10 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - TBA PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 2:00 PM PST
at San Jose State
San Jose, CA
Saturday, Oct 24 - TBA PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Pacific
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 12:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - TBA PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Quarterfinals
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 21 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Semifinals
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 22 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. MPSF Championships - ...
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 22 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. MPSF Championships - ...
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS