Golfers Narrow the Gap, Trail by Three

Sept. 27, 2010

Follow UCLA Athletics on Twitter
UCLA Athletics on Facebook

The nationally ranked UCLA men's golf team remained in fourth place but narrowed the gap between it and the leaders in the second round of the Fall Preview at Karsten Creek in Stillwater, OK.

The Bruins posted a team score of 287 (-1) for a 36-hole team total of 587 (+11) and were in fourth place. UCLA's second round score helped trim its deficit from 12 strokes in the opening round to three shots entering the final round. Top-ranked Oklahoma State posted a score of 296 (+8) (584, +8) on Monday and saw its lead dwindle to just one stroke. Georgia and Georgia Tech were tied for second at nine-over par 585. The Bulldogs posted the day's best score, 285 (-3).

As expected individual scores improved for the Bruins, who played the 18th hole Monday in five-under par, courtesy of eagles by freshman Patrick Cantlay and sophomore Pontus Widegren and a birdie by junior Gregor Main. Widegren had the honors of the team's best score -- a two-under par 70 -- and was tied for second at 145 (+1). Main was tied for ninth at 147 (+3) after carding a 73 (+1). Cantlay improved 21 spots on the leader board with a 71 (-1) and was tied for 26th at 150 (+6). Junior Alex Shi Yup Kim was tied for 20th at 149 (+5) after posting a score of 73 (+1). Finally, sophomore Pedro Figueiredo was tied for 45th at 154 (+10).

Georgia's Hudson Swafford fired a 68 (-4) in the second round and claimed first place at 143 (-1).

For complete scores, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Thursday, Feb 04
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
2nd (-27, 837)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
8th (+30, 894)
Monday, Feb 29
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Monday, Mar 07
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Tuesday, Mar 08
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Wednesday, Mar 09
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
15th (+60, 924)
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Friday, Mar 25
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
T-14th (+31, 871)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
9th (+39, 1,089)
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Story
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Story
Sunday, May 01
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
8th (+45, 1,465)
Monday, May 16 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Tuesday, May 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Wednesday, May 18 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Friday, May 27 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Saturday, May 28 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Monday, May 30 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Tuesday, May 31 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Wednesday, Jun 01 - 2:10 PM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS