Golfers Narrow the Gap, Trail by Three

Sept. 27, 2010

Follow UCLA Athletics on Twitter
UCLA Athletics on Facebook

The nationally ranked UCLA men's golf team remained in fourth place but narrowed the gap between it and the leaders in the second round of the Fall Preview at Karsten Creek in Stillwater, OK.

The Bruins posted a team score of 287 (-1) for a 36-hole team total of 587 (+11) and were in fourth place. UCLA's second round score helped trim its deficit from 12 strokes in the opening round to three shots entering the final round. Top-ranked Oklahoma State posted a score of 296 (+8) (584, +8) on Monday and saw its lead dwindle to just one stroke. Georgia and Georgia Tech were tied for second at nine-over par 585. The Bulldogs posted the day's best score, 285 (-3).

As expected individual scores improved for the Bruins, who played the 18th hole Monday in five-under par, courtesy of eagles by freshman Patrick Cantlay and sophomore Pontus Widegren and a birdie by junior Gregor Main. Widegren had the honors of the team's best score -- a two-under par 70 -- and was tied for second at 145 (+1). Main was tied for ninth at 147 (+3) after carding a 73 (+1). Cantlay improved 21 spots on the leader board with a 71 (-1) and was tied for 26th at 150 (+6). Junior Alex Shi Yup Kim was tied for 20th at 149 (+5) after posting a score of 73 (+1). Finally, sophomore Pedro Figueiredo was tied for 45th at 154 (+10).

Georgia's Hudson Swafford fired a 68 (-4) in the second round and claimed first place at 143 (-1).

For complete scores, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 12 - All Day PST
vs. Northern ...
Sugar Grove, IL
Sunday, Sep 13 - All Day PST
vs. Northern ...
Sugar Grove, IL
Sunday, Oct 04 - All Day PST
vs. Erin Hills ...
Erin, WI
Monday, Oct 05 - All Day PST
vs. Erin Hills ...
Erin, WI
Tuesday, Oct 06 - All Day PST
vs. Erin Hills ...
Erin, WI
Friday, Oct 16 - All Day PST
vs. United States ...
Alpharetta, GA
Saturday, Oct 17 - All Day PST
vs. United States ...
Alpharetta, GA
Sunday, Oct 18 - All Day PST
vs. United States ...
Alpharetta, GA
Monday, Nov 02 - All Day PST
vs. Gifford Collegiate
Carlsbad, CA
Tuesday, Nov 03 - All Day PST
vs. Gifford Collegiate
Carlsbad, CA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - All Day PST
vs. Gifford Collegiate
Carlsbad, CA
Saturday, Nov 07 - All Day PST
vs. All-American
El Paso, TX
Sunday, Nov 08 - All Day PST
vs. All-American
El Paso, TX
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS