UCLA Tennis Update

Jan. 18, 2009

LOS ANGELES - Women's tennis players Andrea Remynse and Yasmin Schnack defeated Stanford's Hillary Barte/Lindsey Burdette on Sunday to take the doubles title at the National Collegiate Tennis Classic in Palm Desert, Calif. Several women's players were also in action at the Freeman Memorial Championships in Las Vegas, Nev., while the men's team was competing at the Sherwood Collegiate Cup in Thousand Oaks, Calif. over the weekend.

Remynse and Schnack advanced to Sunday's final with an 8-6 semifinal win over the top-seeded USC tandem of Amanda Fink/Gabriela Niculescu. They defeated third seeded Barte/Burdette, 9-8 to win the championship.

Schnack and Remynse both advanced to the quarterfinals in singles at the NCTC. Schnack fell to top-seeded Maria Mosolova of Northwestern, 0-6, 7-5, 6-2, while Remynse fell to USC's Maria Sanchez, 6-1, 6-1.

Carling Seguso, Nina Pantic, Ashley Joelson and Anna-Viktoria Lind were all in action at the Freeman Memorial Championships in Las Vegas. With no players in either the main draw or consolation finals, the Bruin players took part in additional matches set up by the tournament on Sunday. Seguso downed UNLV's Katy Williams, 6-3, 6-4, while Pantic was a 6-3, 6-2 winniver over North Carolina's Jelena Durisic. Ashley Joelson teamed with Seguso to defeat Florida's JoAnna Mather/Barbara Pinterova, 9-7. Pantic and Lind were also winners, downing Georgia Tech's Sasha Krupina/Christina Ngo, 9-8.

Matt Brooklyn led the men's contingent at the Sherwood Collegiate Cup over the weekend, advancing to the semifinals in both singles and doubles. In singles, he was beaten by USC's Robert Farah, 7-5, 6-2 on Sunday. Brooklyn and teammate Holden Seguso also fell in the semifinals of doubles, losing to Farah and Steve Johnson, 8-5.

Both the UCLA men's and women's tennis teams open up the 2009 dual-match season next week. The Bruin women will host Cal State Northridge on Wednesday at 1:30 p.m. The men open up the season on Thursday at the Los Angeles Tennis Center, taking on BYU at 1:30 p.m.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS