UCLA Tennis Update

Jan. 18, 2009

LOS ANGELES - Women's tennis players Andrea Remynse and Yasmin Schnack defeated Stanford's Hillary Barte/Lindsey Burdette on Sunday to take the doubles title at the National Collegiate Tennis Classic in Palm Desert, Calif. Several women's players were also in action at the Freeman Memorial Championships in Las Vegas, Nev., while the men's team was competing at the Sherwood Collegiate Cup in Thousand Oaks, Calif. over the weekend.

Remynse and Schnack advanced to Sunday's final with an 8-6 semifinal win over the top-seeded USC tandem of Amanda Fink/Gabriela Niculescu. They defeated third seeded Barte/Burdette, 9-8 to win the championship.

Schnack and Remynse both advanced to the quarterfinals in singles at the NCTC. Schnack fell to top-seeded Maria Mosolova of Northwestern, 0-6, 7-5, 6-2, while Remynse fell to USC's Maria Sanchez, 6-1, 6-1.

Carling Seguso, Nina Pantic, Ashley Joelson and Anna-Viktoria Lind were all in action at the Freeman Memorial Championships in Las Vegas. With no players in either the main draw or consolation finals, the Bruin players took part in additional matches set up by the tournament on Sunday. Seguso downed UNLV's Katy Williams, 6-3, 6-4, while Pantic was a 6-3, 6-2 winniver over North Carolina's Jelena Durisic. Ashley Joelson teamed with Seguso to defeat Florida's JoAnna Mather/Barbara Pinterova, 9-7. Pantic and Lind were also winners, downing Georgia Tech's Sasha Krupina/Christina Ngo, 9-8.

Matt Brooklyn led the men's contingent at the Sherwood Collegiate Cup over the weekend, advancing to the semifinals in both singles and doubles. In singles, he was beaten by USC's Robert Farah, 7-5, 6-2 on Sunday. Brooklyn and teammate Holden Seguso also fell in the semifinals of doubles, losing to Farah and Steve Johnson, 8-5.

Both the UCLA men's and women's tennis teams open up the 2009 dual-match season next week. The Bruin women will host Cal State Northridge on Wednesday at 1:30 p.m. The men open up the season on Thursday at the Los Angeles Tennis Center, taking on BYU at 1:30 p.m.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Thursday, Feb 18
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 6
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 5
Thursday, Feb 25
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Friday, Mar 11
at California
Berkeley, CA
Rained out.
Saturday, Mar 12
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 1 - 5
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Friday, Apr 01
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Apr 03
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
Friday, May 13 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Notre Dame
Columbus, OH
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS