Celebrating 40 Years of Title IX

It simply reads:

"No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance."

When it became law on June 23, 1972, Title IX changed the landscape of collegiate athletics.

Its impact over the last 40 years has been profound from coast-to-coast, but perhaps it has been most noticeable at a progressive state university located just miles from the Pacific Ocean - UCLA.

The university community quickly saw the value in successful women's athletics, began competing in the AIAW during the 1973-74 school year under the direction of Women's Athletic Director Dr. Judith Holland, and quickly established its teams among the nation's elite - first in the AIAW and later the NCAA.

By the time Ann Meyers accepted the first women's athletic scholarship at UCLA in 1974-75, the UCLA women's athletic program was already off and running ... and the machine has yet to stop, capturing more than 40 team national championships (AIAW and NCAA combined) in 40 years, including the most recent, an NCAA Women's Volleyball crown in late 2011.

Some of UCLA's women's teams in sports such as volleyball, softball, track & field, water polo and gymnastics are considered among the best of all time. Many of the individuals who have worn a Bruins jersey are synonymous with excellence in women's athletics.

So, with the 40th anniversary of Title IX fast approaching, UCLABruins.com will be taking a long look back at the last 40 years through many of the people who built this rich history at UCLA - players, coaches and administrators alike. This retrospective will continue through mid-November, when it will culminate with a department-wide celebration of Title IX.

Title IX Features

Title IX Memories with Dr. Judith Holland - Part 1
Title IX Memories with Dr. Judith Holland - Part 2
Title IX Memories with Ann Meyers Drysdale - Part 1
Title IX Memories - 1978 AIAW Women's Basketball Championship
Title IX Memories with Lisa Fernandez

Roadblocks No Issue for Golf Alumna Maiya Tanaka
On the Track to Equality (Jeanette Bolden)

The Title IX 40
UCLA to Honor Top 40 Female Athletes of Title IX Era Nov. 10
UCLA to Celebrate 40th Anniversary of Title IX Nov. 10
UCLA Alumnae Named as Women's Sports Foundation 40 FOR 40 Honorees
Bruins Featured Prominently in ESPN's Title IX 40th Anniversary TV Schedule

Coaches & Administrators of the Decade
Karen Moe/Janet Coles
Terry Condon/Jan Palchikoff
Sue Enquist/Ann Meyers Drysdale
Evelyn Ashford/Anita Ortega
Carol Bower/Denise Corlett
Denise Curry/Sharon Shapiro
Jackie Joyner-Kersee/Dr. Dot Richardson
Florence Griffith-Joyner/Liz Masakayan
Kay Cockerill/Gail Devers
Kim Hamilton Anthony/Stella Sampras Webster
Natalie Williams, Lisa Fernandez
Annette Salmeen/Keri Phebus
Amy Acuff/Leah Homma
Nicolle Payne/Maylana Martin Douglas
Seilala Sua-Zumbado/Kristee Porter
Stacey Nuveman Deniz/Mohini Bhardwaj Barry
Natasha Watley/Jamie Dantzscher
Monique Henderson/Kelly Rulon
Emily Feher/Noelle Quinn
Lauren Cheney/Tiffany Joh