McPhillips Named Pac-12 Newcomer of the Year

May 15, 2013

LOS ANGELES - UCLA freshman Kyle McPhillips was named Pac-12 Newcomer of the Year on Wednesday, becoming the second Bruin player in as many years to win the award. McPhillips also earned second-team All-Pac-12 honors, while sophomore Robin Anderson was named to the first team.

McPhillips, from Willoughby, Ohio, has been UCLA's hottest player of late, taking a 10-match winning streak into this week's NCAA Round of 16. McPhillips' run started in the team's last four matches of the regular season and continued all the way through the Pac-12 Tournament, where she became the first UCLA freshman to win the main draw singles title since Sara Walker in 2000. At 30-8 overall, she is the only Bruin player to reach the 30-win mark this season. She follows Anderson, who earned the Pac-12's Newcomer of the Year award in 2012. McPhillips is currently ranked 20th nationally in singles in the latest ITA rankings.

In addition to being recognized by the Conference, McPhillips was also named ITA Rookie of the Year for the Southwest Region on Tuesday. She is now in the running for the national award, which will be released later this month.

For the second year in a row, Anderson was chosen to the Pac-12's First-Team. The sophomore from Matawan, N.J. has been ranked in the top 10 in the nation in singles all season, currently standing at No. 3. As UCLA's No. 1 player in both singles and doubles, Anderson owns a 26-5 overall singles record and a 9-6 mark in doubles with partner Skylar Morton. Anderson leads the team this year in wins over ranked opponents with 13.

First Team
Sabrina Santamaria, So., USC*
Danielle Lao, Sr., USC*
Robin Anderson, So., UCLA
Nicole Gibbs, Jr., Stanford
Zso! Susanyi, So., California
Anett Schutting, Jr., California
* unanimous selection

Second Team
Zoë Scandalis, So., USC
Krista Hardebeck, Fr., Stanford
Kristie Ahn, Jr., Stanford
Kyle McPhillips, Fr., UCLA
Jacqueline Cako, Jr., Arizona State
Klara Fabikova, Fr., California

Honorable Mention
Lacey Smyth, Jr., Arizona
Lynn Chi, Fr., California
Tereza Bekerova, So., Utah
Sarah Pham, Jr., Utah

Singles Player of the Year: Sabrina Santamaria, USC
Doubles Team of the Year: Sabrina Santamaria/Kaitlin Christian, USC
Newcomer of the Year: Kyle McPhillips, UCLA
Coach of the Year: Richard Gallien, USC

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Jan 15 - All Day PST
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Jan 15 - All Day PST
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
Friday, Jan 22 - TBA PST
vs. National Indoors ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 23 - TBA PST
vs. National Indoors ...
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 29 - TBA PST
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
Friday, Feb 05 - All Day PST
vs. ITA National Indoor ...
Madison, WI
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA