Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Nathan Smith (Photo by Trevor Ruszkowski)
Nathan Smith Named to Top Drawer Soccer National Team of the Week
By: UCLA Athletics

Freshman defender Nathan Smith has been named to the Top Drawer Soccer National Team of the Week, as announced by the website today.

Smith played all 110 minutes in UCLA's 0-0 draw with No. 7 Notre Dame on Friday, helping the Bruins earn their first shutout of the year. Then on Sunday against top-ranked Indiana, Smith again played every single minute for the Bruins, setting up Victor Chavez's game-winning goal in overtime with his first assist of the season. Smith was the only UCLA player to play every single minute over the weekend and was instrumental in helping the Bruins earn a runner-up finish at the adidas/IU Credit Union Classic.

Junior goalkeeper Earl Edwards Jr. was named to the "Others Considered" list for the Top Drawer Soccer National Team of the Week. He was named to the College Soccer News Team of the Week yesterday after recording two clean sheets over the weekend.

UCLA (1-0-1) returns to the pitch this Thursday to play its first home match of the season, taking on Cal Poly at 7 p.m. at Drake Stadium.

Top Drawer Soccer National Team of the Week (Week ending Sept. 1)
GK: Brian Billings, Bradley
D: Bryan Gallego, Akron
D: Steve Birnbaum, California
D: Nathan Smith, UCLA
MF: Ricardo Velazco, Louisville
MF: Fabian Herbers, Creighton
MF: Patrick Huang, UAB
MF: Goffin Boyoko, UC Santa Barbara
MF: Michael Calderon, New Mexico
F: Pete Caringi III, UMBC
F: Sagi Lev-Ari, Cal State Northridge

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Aug 18
vs. Mexican U-17 ...
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1
Saturday, Aug 22
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. New Mexico
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 04
at Maryland
College Park, MD
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Monday, Sep 07
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
L, 1 - 3
Sunday, Sep 13
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Friday, Sep 18
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Monday, Sep 21
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Sep 25
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 27
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3 (OT)
Friday, Oct 02
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 3 - 2 (2OT)
Monday, Oct 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 16 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Oct 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 8:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 10:00 AM PST
at Akron
Akron, OH
Friday, Nov 06 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 14 - 7:00 PM PST
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
Thursday, Nov 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Sunday, Nov 29 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
Friday, Dec 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Kansas City, MO
Sunday, Dec 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Kansas City, MO