Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Leo Stolz (Photo by Jeff Sipsey)
Leo Stolz Named MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist
By: UCLA Athletics

UCLA midfielder and Pac-12 Player of the Year Leo Stolz continued to rake in the national honors today, being named a semifinalist for the 2013 MAC Hermann Trophy.

Stolz became the sixth UCLA player all-time to be named Pac-12 Player of the Year in 2013 after leading the conference in points (30) and goals (11). The Munich, Germany native also finished tied for the team lead in assists with eight. Nationally, Stolz is 13th in points, 20th in goals scored and 25th in assists. He tied for the conference lead in game-winning goals with four and posted three multi-goal games on the year as well. Additionally, the junior midfielder recorded at least one point in 10 of his final 14 matches and was named to the College Soccer News National Team of the Week four times this season. In the NCAA Second Round against Elon on Nov. 24, Stolz  recorded three assists, which were the most by a UCLA player in a postseason game since Cliff McKinley had three vs. Penn State in the 2002 NCAA Quarterfinals.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual intercollegiate award presented annually during a January banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. NCAA Division I coaches and fan votes will determine the three finalists for the award. Fans can vote for Stolz by visiting the MAC Hermann Trophy voting page here.

The top three vote-getters for each gender from the combined NSCAA coaches and weighted fan votes will be announced as finalists Thursday, Dec. 12, followed by the announcement of the winners at the banquet on January 10.

2013 MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists
Andre Blake, Jr., GK - Connecticut
Steve Birnbaum, Sr., D - California
AJ Cochran, Jr., D - Wisconsin
Taylor Peay, Sr., D - Washington
Kyle Venter, Sr., D - New Mexico
Laurie Bell, Jr., MF - Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Aodhan Quinn, Sr., MF - Akron
Pedro Ribeiro, Sr., MF - Coastal Carolina
Leo Stolz, Jr., MF - UCLA
Pete Caringi, Sr., F - UMBC
Tim Hopkinson, Sr., F - Old Dominion
Sagi Lev-Ari, Jr., F - Cal State Northridge
Patrick Mullins, Sr., F - Maryland
Steve Neumann, Sr., F - Georgetown
Harrison Shipp, Sr., F - Notre Dame

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. New Mexico
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 04
at Maryland
College Park, MD
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Monday, Sep 07
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
L, 1 - 3
Sunday, Sep 13
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Friday, Sep 18
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Monday, Sep 21
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Sep 25
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 27
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3 (OT)
Friday, Oct 02
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 3 - 2 (2OT)
Monday, Oct 12
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Oct 16
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Monday, Oct 19
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Oct 23
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
T, 2 - 2
Sunday, Oct 25
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 4
Sunday, Nov 01
at Akron
Akron, OH
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Nov 08
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Nov 14
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 0
Sunday, Nov 22
at Seattle
Seattle, WA
L, 0 - 1