Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Abby Dahlkemper (photo by Jeff Sipsey)
UCLA's Abby Dahlkemper Nominated for Honda Award
By: UCLA Athletics
Junior defender Abby Dahlkemper of the NCAA Champion UCLA women's soccer team has been nominated for the Honda Sports Award for Soccer, which is presented annually by THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports.

Dahlkemper, who led UCLA to its first-ever national title this season, is the leader of a UCLA defense that ranked No. 1 in the nation in team goals against average (0.30) and shut out 18 opponents, including five of six in the NCAA Tournament. The Bruin defense allowed just eight goals all season and only one in postseason play.

The first defender in 10 years to be selected a finalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy, Dahlkemper was honored as a three-time NSCAA All-American, All-Pacific Region and All-Pac-12 member. She also received Pac-12 All-Academic honorable mention acclaim for the second consecutive year, as well as Capital One Academic All-District honors. A 24-game starter for the 22-1-3 Bruins, Dahlkemper finished the year ranked second on the team behind only goalkeeper Katelyn Rowland in minutes played with 2,194, and she contributed one goal and two assists from her center back position.

The other nominees for the Honda Sports Award for soccer are Morgan Brian from Virginia, Crystal Dunn from North Carolina and Kasey Kallman from Florida State.

The Honda Sports Award signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics”. The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2014 Honda Cup. The nominees were chosen by a panel of coaches representing the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA). The Honda Sports award winner for soccer will be announced next week after voting by administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Each NCAA member institution has a vote.

Three Honda Sports Awards winners for soccer have gone on to win the prestigious Honda Cup, Christine Sinclair (2006), Cindy Daws (1997) and Mia Hamm (1994).

THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards has honored the nation’s top NCAA women athletes for 37 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service. Since commencing its sponsorship in 1986, Honda has provided more than $2.7 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs at the institutions.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events