TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Dennis Mkrtchian didn't drop a single game in his match at court No. 5 on Wednesday.
No. 2 Men's Tennis Blanks UC Irvine, 7-0 in Season Opener
By: UCLA Athletics
LOS ANGELES - The No. 2 UCLA men's tennis team kicked off the 2014 season in dominating fashion on Wednesday afternoon, cruising to a 7-0 victory over UC Irvine at the Los Angeles Tennis Center.

UCLA, which won five of six singles matches in straight sets, was paced on the afternoon by junior Dennis Mkrtchian, who posted a 6-0, 6-0 victory over Caryl Hernandez at court No. 5.

Playing in their first dual match for the Bruins, freshmen Mackenzie McDonald, Gage Brymer and Joseph Di Giulio each posted straight-set singles wins. McDonald was especially impressive at court No. 2, downing Rafael Davidian, 6-1, 6-0.

UCLA (1-0) was without the services of 11th-ranked Marcos Giron, who is playing a Challenger event in Maui this week. He won his opening match on Monday, defeating qualifier Jared Donaldson, 7-6, 6-3. He next faces former Stanford standout Bradley Klahn in the second round.

UCLA returns to action on Saturday, facing Wisconsin at Noon as part of ITA Kick Off Weekend. If the Bruins win that match, they will take on either Nebraska or Texas Tech on Sunday at 1:00 p.m. The event serves as a qualification for next month's USTA/ITA National Team Indoors in Houston, Texas.

With the loss on Wednesday, UC Irvine falls to 1-6 on the season.

#2 UCLA 7, #74 UC Irvine 0
Jan 22, 2014 at Los Angeles, CA (Los Angeles Tennis Center)

Doubles
1. Di Giulio/Thompson (UCLA) def. Cheung/Hammel (UCI) 6-2
2. Mkrtchian/Sell (UCLA) def. Justin Agbayani/Hernandez (UCI) 6-1
3. Brymer/McDonald (UCLA) vs. Pham/Shibahara (UCI) 4-3, unfinished

UCLA Wins Doubles Point

Singles
1. #1 Clay Thompson (UCLA) def. Ryan Cheung (UCI) 6-2, 6-4
2. #62 Mackenzie McDonald (UCLA) def. Rafael Davidian (UCI) 6-1, 6-0
3. #64 Karue Sell (UCLA) def. Tyler Pham (UCI) 3-6, 6-2, 6-2
4. #120 Gage Brymer (UCLA) def. Jonathan Hammel (UCI) 6-2, 6-2
5. Dennis Mkrtchian (UCLA) def. Caryl Hernandez (UCI) 6-0, 6-0
6. Joseph Di Giulio (UCLA) def. Shuhei Shibahara (UCI) 6-4, 6-4
Match Notes
UC Irvine 1-6; National ranking #74
UCLA 1-0; National ranking #2
Order of finish: Doubles (2,1); Singles (5,2,1,4,6,3)
EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Texas A&M
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. North Carolina
Charlottesville, VA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, Feb 27
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
W, 4 - 3
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, May 14 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
TBA
Sunday, May 15 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
TBA
Thursday, May 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
Tulsa, OK
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS