TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
UCLA heads back to New Mexico this weekend.
UCLA Track and Field Splits Squad Once Again
By: UCLA Athletics

New Mexico Live Results
Washington Live Results

LOS ANGELES – For the second time in the span of a couple weeks the UCLA track and field team will split its squad between Albuquerque, N.M., and Seattle, Wash. The majority of the team will head to the Don Kirby Elite Invite at the Albuquerque Convention Center while the distance runners will head to the Husky Classic at the Dempsey Indoor Arena.

“Once again we will split our team to maximize the opportunities to qualify our teams,” UCLA director of track and field Mike Maynard said. “The meets this weekend and the MPSF are the only two remaining opportunities for our student-athletes to qualify for the NCAA Indoor Championships.”

Both meets are scheduled to start on Friday, Feb. 14 and will go through Saturday, Feb. 15. The Don Kirby Elite Invite will begin on Friday with the field events at 3 p.m. PT, and the track events at 5 p.m. PT. On Saturday the Bruins return for a 9:30 a.m. start time. In Seattle, the action begins at 4 p.m. PT. Saturday will kick off at 8 a.m. PT.

“This weekend is also the last opportunity to sharpen up before the MPSF Conference Championships in Seattle at the end of the month,” Maynard added. “Our distance crew will head up to the Husky Classic, one of the NCAAs premier distance competitions, held at the University of Washington this weekend. We are looking forward to some break through performances from our distance squad.”

Eight men’s teams are ranked in the top 25 by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association, while seven women’s squads own that distinction.

The No. 3 Oregon men headline the men’s competition, which also includes No. 8 Arizona, No. 12 UTEP, No. 14 Arizona State, No. 20 Stanford, No. 21 Akron, No. 24 USC and No. 25 Mississippi.

The women’s field features the second-ranked Ducks of Oregon, along with No. 9 Stanford, No. 18 Michigan, No. 20 Akron, No. 21 Arizona State and No. 23 Arizona.

The UCLA women check in at No. 13 in the poll this week. Nine Bruins currently have a mark in the top-25 in their respective events while Kylie Price ranks second in the long jump and Kelsey Smith boasts the third best time in the 3,000m.

UCLA will have a week off before it heads back to Seattle for the MPSF Championships. The meet will begin on Friday, Feb. 28.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 16
vs. Lumberjack Team ...
Flagstaff, AZ
Recap
Friday, Jan 22
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, Feb 20 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Alex Wilson ...
Notre Dame, IN
Friday, Feb 26 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Mar 05 - All Day PST
vs. Ben Brown ...
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Saturday, Mar 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Jim Bush Collegiate ...
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 14 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Sunday, May 08 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Saturday, May 14 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS