TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Trent Chatterton (Photo by Scott Chandler)
No. 12 UCLA Baseball Falls to No. 22 Cal Poly, 8-0
By: UCLA Athletics

The 12th-ranked UCLA Baseball team dropped an 8-0 decision to No. 22 Cal Poly on Saturday afternoon in front of 1,465 fans at Jackie Robinson Stadium.

Freshman Slater Lee earned the win for the Mustangs, pitching a complete game shutout while striking out seven. Junior Grant Watson took the loss for the Bruins, dropping to 1-1 after allowing six runs (five earned) in four innings of work while striking out seven.

After a scoreless first two innings, Cal Poly took a three-run lead in the top of the third, when Nick Torres hit a three-run homer to left off of Watson to give the Mustangs the lead.

The Mustangs then opened the game up in the top of the fifth, as Watson allowed the first two runners to reach base on back-to-back singles. Torres came up again, and this time hit a hard ground ball that got through Trent Chatterton at shortstop, allowing Tim Wise to score to make it 4-0. Watson was relieved by freshman Scott Burke after that, and on the first batter Burke faced he allowed a three-run home run to Brian Mundell, making it 7-0 in favor of the Mustangs. Cal Poly tacked on another run in the inning when Jimmy Allen scored on an RBI groundout by Zack Zehner to give the Mustangs an eight-run lead.

UCLA’s bullpen did a good job of keeping the Mustangs off the board for the final part of the game, as freshmen Grant Dyer and Moises Ceja and junior Max Schuh combined to throw four shutout innings. The Bruin offense was unable to generate anything off of Lee though and UCLA went on to fall to the Mustangs, 8-0.

Senior Brian Carroll and sophomore Trent Chatterton provided the hits for the Bruins while Brian Mundell led the way for the Mustangs with two hits in his three at-bats.

UCLA (4-2) and Cal Poly (5-1) will conclude their series tomorrow at 1 p.m. out at Jackie Robinson Stadium. Sophomore Cody Poteet will start the series finale for the Bruins.

Game Notes: UCLA’s streak of allowing three runs or less in a ballgame was snapped at 13 straight games…sophomore Ty Moore has now reached base in five of UCLA's six games this season…UCLA’s bullpen has now posted a 1.52 ERA in 23.2 innings pitched through the first six games…Grant Watson’s seven strikeouts were one short of matching his career-high…the Bruins have had at least one batter get hit by a pitch in all six of their games thus far.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 19
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 14
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 10
Friday, Feb 26
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 7 - 6
Saturday, Feb 27
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 19 - 0
Sunday, Feb 28
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
L, 2 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 01
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
L, 6 - 11
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 3 (14)
Tuesday, Mar 08
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
L, 12 - 20
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 7
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Mar 18
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5 (12)
Sunday, Mar 20
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 11 - 2
Thursday, Mar 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Mar 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 14 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 17 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS