TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Cody Poteet (Photo by Scott Chandler)
Poteet Earns More Weekly Honors After 13-Strikeout Performance
By: UCLA Athletics

After receiving National Player of the Week honors from Collegiate Baseball/Louisville Slugger yesterday, sophomore right-hander Cody Poteet received more weekly honors today, being named the Pac-12 Pitcher of the Week and one of NCAA.com's National Players of the Week.

Poteet had a career day for the Bruins on Sunday, tossing a complete shutout and striking out 13 in UCLA’s 5-0 win over Michigan. The Bonita, Calif. native was phenomenal, allowing just two hits and no walks in his complete game shutout. Poteet struck out at least one hitter in every inning he pitched and also set a new career-high with his 13 strikeouts. In addition, his 13 strikeouts were the most by a UCLA pitcher since Trevor Bauer struck out 14 Fresno State batters on June 4, 2011. Poteet also threw the first complete game shutout by a UCLA pitcher since Nick Vander Tuig shut out Washington on March 16 of last year.

In the Bruins' three games at the USA Baseball-Irish Classic this weekend, UCLA’s starting pitchers combined to throw 25 shutout innings, allowing just six hits and three walks while striking out 27. Additionally, UCLA’s pitchers as a group have now allowed only one run in their last 31.2 innings pitched.

This is Poteet’s first-career Pac-12 Pitcher of the Week nod and is the 65th pitcher honoree overall for the Bruins. 

The Bruins (7-4), ranked No. 13 in the most recent Baseball America poll, return home tonight to face Loyola Marymount (4-7) at 6 p.m. out at Jackie Robinson Stadium.

2014 Pac-12 Pitchers of the Week
Feb. 18 – Daulton Jefferies, Fr., RHP, CAL
Feb. 25 – Nick Green, Sr., LHP, UTAH
Mar. 4 –  Cody Poteet, So., RHP, UCLA

 

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS