TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Ani Gulugian tied with South Carolina's Katelyn Dambaugh for the best round of the day at 68 (-4).
Bruins Tied for Sixth After First Round of the PING/ASU Invitational
By: UCLA Athletics

TEMPE, Ariz. -- Senior Ani Gulugian carded the best round of the day at 68 (-4, tied with South Carolina's Katelyn Dambaugh) to pace the Bruins in the first round of the PING/ASU Invitational on Friday at the Karsten Golf Course. Gulugian registered five birdies on the day.

The Bruins posted a team score of 291 (+3) to tie with Oregon and California for sixth place. Washington leads the field after the first round at 284 (-4), three shots better than the hosts, Arizona State (287, -1). Arizona and South Carolina are tied for third at 288 (E) while Duke rounds out the top five at 290 (+2).

UCLA is without freshman Alison Lee, who is playing as an amateur at the Kraft Nabisco Championship at Mission Hills Country Club. Lee posted a first-round score of three-over par 75 and was tied for 60th in the LPGA’s first major at the famed golf course in Rancho Mirage on Thursday. Lee made just one birdie in between four bogeys on the day. She hit just seven of 14 fairways, but had 32 putts.

Freshman Bronte Law tied for 29th, recording four birdies on the day. Junior All-America Erynne Lee and sophomore Louise Ridderstrom posted a score of 75 (+3) and are tied for 40th. Ridderstrom had three bogeys, but led the tournament field (tied with Texas' Natalie Karcher) for the most pars in the first round with 15.

Junior Brittany Mai shot a score of 80 (+8) and was tied for 72nd.

Second round action continues on Saturday with the first tee time at 8:00 a.m.

For live scoring click here.

T6 UCLA 291 +3
T1 Ani Gulugian (2) 68 -4
T29 Bronte Law (4) 73 +1
T40 Erynne Lee (1) 75 +3
T40 Louise Ridderstrom (3) 75 +3
T72 Brittany Mai (5) 80 +8

 

 

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Friday, May 06
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Saturday, May 07
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
3rd (+1, 865)
Friday, May 20
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Saturday, May 21
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Sunday, May 22
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Monday, May 23
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
1st (-8, 1,144)
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Oregon
Eugene, OR
Won 4-0-1
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Washington
Eugene, OR
Lost 3-1-1
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS