TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Volleyball's Quiroga Nets First-Team AVCA All-America Honors
By: UCLA Athletics

Gonzalo Quiroga, a senior outside hitter, was selected to the 2014  AVCA (American Volleyball Coaches Association) Division I-II Men's Volleyball All-Ameica team announced on Thursday. It is the second straight season that the native of Argentina has earned first-team honors.

Senior hitter Robart Page and senior opposite Spencer Rowe were each named honorable mention AVCA All-Americans.

UCLA served an MPSF-high of 151 aces during the regular season, led by Quiroga's MPSF-leading total of 56.The team tied the school record with 14 aces v. BYU (4/12) with Quiroga registering a season-best six aces.He ranked fourth in the nation in service ace average (0.50).

Quiroga topped the MPSF with his 0.50 service aces/set average, a mark which flirted with Mark Williams' (2001) school record mark of 0.51. He had double-digit kills in 27 of the 29 matches this season and had at least three service aces in nine matches during the year. Quiroga, who holds the school career record for total aces (194) finished the regular season ranked eighth in the MPSF in kills (3.71) and rated ninth in the nation, fourth in the league, in points per set (4.54).

Last week, Quiroga was named a first-team All-MPSF selection and was one of four finalists for the National Server of the Year Award. Second-team All-MPSF honors went to Page and Rowe. Mitch Stahl and Jackson Bantle were listed on the All-MPSF Freshman team.

Page registered double-digit kills in 23 matches and surpassed the 20-kill mark a team-high four times this season. He ended the regular season ranked seventh in the MPSF in kills per set (3.79), a mark which ranks among the top 10 in school history in the rally scoring era (2001-present).

Rowe had a then career-best 19 kills at BYU (Mar. 29) and topped that performance with a 24-kill effort while hitting .525 at CSUN on Apr. 3. He also posted career-bests this season in hitting percentage, aces (2), total blocks (7), digs (9) and points (27.0.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 03
vs. British Columbia
Los Angeles, CA
25-19, 25-15, 25-14
Tuesday, Jan 05
at George Mason
Fairfax, VA
25-23, 25-12, 25-20
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
(24-26, 25-22, 25-22, 25-22)
Friday, Jan 08
at Penn State
University Park, PA
(25-23, 22-25, 25-18, 21-25, 15-8)
Friday, Jan 15
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
(25-19, 24-26, 25-23, 25-23)
Saturday, Jan 16
at UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA
(25-18, 25-17, 25-14)
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Cal Baptist
Riverside, CA
(27-25, 25-21, 25-12)
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
(27-25, 23-25, 25-21, 25-19)
Monday, Jan 25
vs. Princeton
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-23, 25-16)
Wednesday, Jan 27
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
(23-25, 22-25, 25-19, 25-22, 15-13)
Friday, Jan 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
(20-25, 25-23, 27-25, 25-19)
Friday, Feb 05 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Feb 06 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Thursday, Feb 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:00 AM PST
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Feb 24 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Monday, Mar 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Ball State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Concordia
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 7:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 7:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Quarterfinals
TBA
Thursday, Apr 21 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Semifinals
TBA
Saturday, Apr 23 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championship
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS