TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Trent Chatterton (Photo by Scott Chandler)
Season Ends with 6-1 Loss at No. 8 Washington
By: UCLA Athletics

The UCLA Baseball team saw its season come to a close on Sunday afternoon as the Bruins dropped their series finale to Washington, 6-1, at Husky Ballpark in Seattle, Wash. UCLA finishes the season with a 25-30-1 overall record and a 12-18 record in Pac-12 play.

Jeff Brigham (7-3) earned the win for the Huskies, tossing seven innings and allowing one unearned run. Brigham surrendered four hits and two walks while striking out three as well. Sophomore Cody Poteet (3-5) took the loss for the Bruins, giving up six runs on five hits in 4.1 innings pitched.

Both pitchers controlled the game in the early going, with each allowing just two base runners through the first three innings. The Huskies then took the lead in the bottom of the fourth with three runs off of Poteet. With two outs and runners on first and second, Robert Pehl hit a grounder between that shortstop and third that looked to have a chance of getting through. Sophomore Trent Chatterton made a diving stop to prevent a run though, creating a bases loaded situation for Washington’s Chris Baker with two outs. Poteet threw a wild pitch on the first pitch of the at-bat, allowing Brian Wolfe to score from third to give Washington the lead. Then with runners on second and third, Baker hit a double down the left field line to score the runners and make it 3-0, Huskies.

In the bottom of the fifth, Washington added three more runs to give itself a six-run lead. After Poteet hit Braden Bishop to lead off the inning and a sacrifice bunt by Andrew Ely moved Bishop up to second, Austin Rei hit a single up the middle to make the score 4-0 in favor of the Huskies. The next batter was Wolfe, who hit a two-run home run off of Poteet to increase the Husky lead to six.

UCLA got a run back in the top of the seventh starting when sophomore Justin Hazard led off with a single and moved to second on a throwing error by Baker at third. A sacrifice bunt by senior Pat Gallagher moved the runners up before Hazard came in to score on a RBI groundout by senior Aaron Weimer, making the score 6-1, Washington. That would be all the Bruins would get though as they failed to score in the final two innings, giving the Huskies a 6-1 victory.

Hazard led the Bruins at the plate, going 2-4 with a run scored. Chatterton provided two hits for UCLA as well while freshman Kort Peterson had UCLA’s only other hit in the game.

Game Notes: Today’s loss snapped UCLA’s 19-game winning streak over Washington dating back to 2008…Max Schuh finished the regular season with a Pac-12 leading 37 relief appearances…Justin Hazard finished the three-game series by going 7-11 with three multi-hit games and four RBI…Hazard also extended his hitting streak to a career-high eight games…UCLA’s pitchers hit five batters in today’s game, matching a season-high…Shane Zeile threw out his Pac-12 leading 18th base stealer in today’s game and finished the year with a team-high .324 batting average…Trent Chatterton finished the season with a team-leading .320 batting average in conference play...UCLA still earned its eighth consecutive series victory over Washington with its wins on Friday and Saturday.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS