Don't have an account? Click Here

Play Video
Robin Anderson and Abby Dahlkemper

Courtesy: UCLA Athletics
Behind-the-Scenes with Honda Award Winners Anderson, Dahlkemper
Courtesy: UCLA Athletics  
Release:  07/01/2014
Honda Award winners Robin Anderson (women's tennis) and Abby Dahlkemper (women's soccer) were honored June 29-30 at the Collegiate Women's Sports Awards in downtown Los Angeles.

After a welcome reception with all of the sport winners on June 29, the Honda Award Class of 2014 visited El Sereno Middle School for a "Huddle" with Enrich LA, during which the athletes shared their experiences with the youngsters in attendance and signed autographs. Following the community service project, the award-winners were honored at a celebration luncheon before heading to the Galen Center for the live television broadcast of the award show.

Alabama gymnast Kim Jacob received the Honda Cup as the Collegiate Woman of the Year. Cross country runner Abbey D'Agostino from Dartmouth and basketball player Breanna Stewart from UConn were also Top 3 finalists.

The Top 3 were selected by a voting of nearly 1,000 NCAA member schools, and the Honda Cup winner was chosen by the Board of Directors of THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) program. Previous Honda Cup winners include UCLA Hall of Famers Natasha Watley, Lisa Fernandez, Jackie Joyner-Kersee and Ann Meyers Drysdale.

Dahlkemper and Anderson are UCLA's 27th and 28th Honda Award winners. Dahlkemper is the first UCLA soccer player ever to win the award, and Anderson is the third from UCLA tennis. This year also marked the 11th time UCLA has received multiple Honda Awards in a single year.

‹ UCLA Bruin Athletics

*UCLA NCAA 2015 Sweet Sixteen T-Shirt - Blue 
Price: $22.00