Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Leo Stolz (photo by Jose Lopez)
UCLA Men's Soccer Opens with 5-2 Exhibition Win over Nebraska Omaha
By: UCLA Athletics
Fourth-ranked UCLA opened up exhibition play on Tuesday, Aug. 19 with a 5-2 victory over Nebraska Omaha at UCLA’s North Athletic Field. Pac-12 Player of the Year and MAC Hermann Trophy finalist Leo Stolz picked up where he left off a year ago, scoring a goal and tallying three assists. Jordan Vale added a goal and an assist for the Bruins.

The Bruins wasted no time in getting on the scoreboard. At 2:40, junior transfer Larry Ndjock tapped in a shot from the left side after receiving a cross from Andrew Tusaazemajja to give UCLA the early lead. Six minutes later, UCLA was awarded a penalty kick after a handball in the box, and Stolz easily scored to make it 2-0. The Bruins made it 3-0 at 34:28 when Edgar Contreras headed in a Stolz corner kick and then scored on another set piece shortly after halftime, when Vale scored off a Stolz free kick at 47:34.

Nebraska Omaha got on the board at 49:04 with a header from Mark Moulton into the left corner, but a 56th minute goal by Javan Torre, off an assist by Vale, built the lead back up to four. A header by Omaha’s Felipe da Silva in the 68th minute rounded out the scoring.

Earl Edwards Jr. picked up the win with a scoreless first half and made one save. Newcomers Ndjock and freshman Chase Gasper made the starting lineup, and freshmen Christian Chavez, Seyi Adekoya and Joab Santoyo made their Bruin debuts.

“We had a good first preseason exhibition game today,” said UCLA head coach Jorge Salcedo. “The guys showed that this team has some potential to be dynamic and score goals and keep possession. We’ll continue to work every day on making it a little bit better and preparing ourselves for our first match against Wake Forest.”

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Aug 18
vs. Mexican U-17 ...
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1
Saturday, Aug 22
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. New Mexico
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 04
at Maryland
College Park, MD
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Monday, Sep 07
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
L, 1 - 3
Sunday, Sep 13
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Friday, Sep 18
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Monday, Sep 21
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Sep 25
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 27
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3 (OT)
Friday, Oct 02
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 3 - 2 (2OT)
Monday, Oct 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 16 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Oct 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 8:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 10:00 AM PST
at Akron
Akron, OH
Friday, Nov 06 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 14 - 7:00 PM PST
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
Thursday, Nov 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Sunday, Nov 29 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
Friday, Dec 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Kansas City, MO
Sunday, Dec 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Kansas City, MO