TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Louise Ridderstrom / Photo courtesy of the USGA
Women’s World Amateur Team Championship Update from Japan
By: UCLA Athletics
KARUIZAWA, Japan. -- Three UCLA golfers represented their respective countries in the first round of the Women’s World Amateur Team Championship in Japan Wednesday.

UCLA junior Louise Ridderstrom (Sweden) and sophomores Alison Lee (USA) and Bronte Law (England) played for their countries in the biennial women’s amateur team competition. Each country’s team consists of three players, and the two lowest scores from that country are counted toward the team score. The four-day (72-hole) total is the team’s score for the championship.

Lee’s four-under par 68 led the United States into a tie for seventh place at 142 (-2), seven shots behind Canada, which held the first round lead at 135 (-9).

Law posted England’s best score – a one-under par 71 – to help her team to a tie for 26th place with a score of 147 (+3).

Ridderstrom’s score of 73 (+1) was dropped, as Sweden used scores from Linnea Strom (71) and Madalene Sagstrom (72) to tie for 11th place at 143 (+1).

Lee, a quarterfinalist at last month’s U.S. Women’s Amateur and No. 3 in the Women’s World Amateur Golf Rankings, turned her day around with a birdie at No. 11 on the Oshitate Course.

“The first nine holes, I was one-over and my putting wasn’t that good,” said Lee, a member of the victorious 2014 Curtis Cup Team. “They weren’t dropping and it was a little frustrating.”

The USA also received a 74 (+2) from Kristen Gillman, the 2014 U.S. Women’s Amateur and a non-counting 77 (+5) from 2013 U.S. Women’s Amateur champion Emma Talley. The USA owns a record 13 victories in the event, but has not claimed the Espirito Santo Trophy since 1998.

“There is still a lot of golf left. I know the other guys didn’t play as well as they can, so I wasn’t too disappointed,” added Lee. “It’s not over yet.”

For complete results and pairings click here.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Monday, Feb 08
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 09
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
T-5th (+26, 878)
Sunday, Feb 21 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Monday, Feb 22 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Monday, Feb 29 - All Day PST
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - All Day PST
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Monday, Mar 21 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Wednesday, Mar 23 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Sunday, Apr 03 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Friday, Apr 08 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Saturday, Apr 09 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Monday, Apr 18 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Thursday, May 05 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Friday, May 06 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS