TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Sophomore Lorens Chan (Photo by Paul Dye)
Bruins Fall to Tigers in NCAA Match Play Quarterfinals
By: UCLA Athletics
HUTCHINSON, Kan. -- The collegiate golf season ended Tuesday for UCLA as unexpectedly as it continued 24 hours earlier. In the early morning dew of Prairie Dune Country Club, the Bruins lost 4-1 in the match play quarterfinals of the NCAA Championship.

UCLA sophomore Lorens Chan was the only match play victor Tuesday morning, winning 4 and 3 over LSU’s Stewart Jolly. LSU’s Curtis Thompson defeated UCLA junior Preston Valder, 1-up. Benjamin Taylor of LSU defeated senior Anton Arboleda of UCLA, 4 and 3. Smylie Kaufman beat the Bruins’ Jonathan Garrick, 2-up and Matt Pinizotto of UCLA lost 2 and 1 to Zach Wright.

Chan took control early in his match, winning the two of the first three holes with a birdie and a par to go 2-up. Jolly squared the match with a pair of pars at the 5th and 6th, but Chan’s birdie at the ninth gave him a 1-up lead. He birdied 10 and 11 for a 3-up lead, won the 14th with a par to go up by four and the 15th hole was halved.

Valder’s match was all square through 15 holes, before Thompson’s eagle at the par 5 gave him a 1-up lead. Valder squared the match at the next hole with a par, but Thompson made par at the 18th to win as Valder double-bogeyed.

Arboleda was 2-up through three holes before Taylor evened the match at the sixth with par. The match remained all-square through the 11 holes until Arboleda made consecutive bogeys on holes 12-15 to go down 4 and 3.

Garrick was all square through 15 holes before falling on the 16th to Kaufman’s eagle, halving the 17th and losing the 18th with a bogey.

Pinizzotto led Wright 2-up through four holes before Wright won the 5th with a birdie and the 6th with a par. He took a 1-up lead with a birdie at the 9th, and went up two with a par at the 10th. Pinizzotto got one back with a birdie at the 11th and was 1-down through 15. Wright made a par at the 16th to go 2-up. the 17th was halved and the 18th was conceded.

NCAA Quarterfinal Match Play Results
LSU 4, UCLA 1

Curtis Thompson (LSU) d. Preston Valder (UCLA), 1-up
Benjamin Taylor (LSU) d. Anton Arboleda (UCLA), 4 and 3
Smylie Kaufman (LSU) d. Jonathan Garrick (UCLA), 2-up
Lorens Chan (UCLA) d. Stewart Jolly (LSU), 4 and 3
Zach Wright (LSU) d. Matt Pinizzotto (UCLA), 2 and 1

Click here for more information.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Thursday, Feb 04
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
2nd (-27, 837)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
8th (+30, 894)
Monday, Feb 29
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Monday, Mar 07
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Tuesday, Mar 08
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Wednesday, Mar 09
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
15th (+60, 924)
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Friday, Mar 25
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
T-14th (+31, 871)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
9th (+39, 1,089)
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Story
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Monday, May 16 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Tuesday, May 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Wednesday, May 18 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Friday, May 27 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Saturday, May 28 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Monday, May 30 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Tuesday, May 31 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Wednesday, Jun 01 - 2:10 PM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS