TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Bruins Struggle in Opening Round at NCAA Golf Championship
By: UCLA Athletics

May 28, 2013

Follow UCLA Athletics on Twitter

Follow UCLA Athletics on Facebook

The third-ranked UCLA men's golf team was in 23rd place following the opening round at the NCAA Championship Tuesday at the Crabapple Golf Course in Woodstock, GA.

The Bruins posted a team score of 289 (+9) and trailed Arizona State, which raced to the top of the leader board with a score of 270 (-10). Georgia Tech was four shots behind the Sun Devils at 274 (-6), followed by third place Alabama at 275 (-5). Illinois was fourth at 276 (-4), top-seeded Cal was fifth at 277 (-3) and Oklahoma was sixth at 278 (-2). Texas and Oklahoma State were tied for seventh at 279 (-1).

After 54 holes the top eight teams will advance to match play, which begins on Friday.

Individually, three UCLA players were tied for 66th place at two-over par 72: seniors Pedro Figueiredo, Pontus Widegren and Anton Arboleda. Freshman Jonathan Garrick and sophomore Manav Shah were tied for 95th place at 73 (+3).

Arizona State's John Rahm held the first round lead at nine-under par 61.

The second round of stroke play continues on Wednesday.

For more information click here.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Thursday, Feb 04
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
2nd (-27, 837)
Friday, Feb 26 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Saturday, Feb 27 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Sunday, Feb 28 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Monday, Mar 07 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 08 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS