2016 NFL Draft
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Troy Aikman
Troy Aikman to Receive NCAA Silver Anniversary Award
By: UCLA Athletics
The NCAA has selected UCLA football great Troy Aikman as one of six recipients of the NCAA Silver Anniversary Award.

The Silver Anniversary Award annually recognizes distinguished individuals on the 25th anniversary of the conclusion of their college athletics careers. The Honors Committee, comprised of representatives of NCAA member schools and nationally prominent former student-athletes, selects each year’s recipients.

Joining Aikman as a 2014 recipient is Rodney Peete (USC football/baseball), Earl Martin Phalen (Yale basketball), George Pyne (Brown football), Katey Stone (New Hampshire Ice Hockey/Lacrosse) and Dara Torres (Florida, Swimming/Volleyball). The NCAA will recognize the honorees at the Honors Celebration during the 2014 NCAA Convention in San Diego, Calif.

Aikman came to UCLA in 1986 after two seasons at Oklahoma. After redshirting his first season at UCLA, he started all 24 games of his career in 1987 and 1988, leading the Bruins to a 10-2 record in each season and to the Pac-10 title in 1987. He was the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner in 1988 and a consensus All-American.

During his two years as a Bruin, Aikman completed 406 of 627 passes (64.8%) for 5,298 yards, 41 touchdowns and 17 interceptions. The 41 touchdowns rank No. 6 in UCLA history, as do the 406 completions, while the 5,298 yards rank seventh. His completion percentage (.648) ranks third in school history among players who have passed for at least 2,000 career yards.

In 1989, he entered the National Football League (NFL) as the first draft pick (and first pick overall) for the Dallas Cowboys. The six-time pro-bowler was named the Super Bowl XXVII Most Valuable Player, and he was the first NFL quarterback to lead his team to three Super Bowls in a four-year span. Aikman is the winningest NFL quarterback of any decade (1990s) and ended his NFL career as the Cowboys’ career leader in playoff passing yards, completions, passing efficiency and completion percentage.

Aikman was inducted into the UCLA Athletics Hall of Fame in 1999, the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2006, and the College Football Hall of Fame in 2008.

Following a distinguished NFL career, Aikman completed his degree in 2008 and joined FOX as a television NFL analyst. He currently serves as a member of the National Football Foundation Board of Directors and is part of the Oxford Preparatory Academy Charter School Advisory Board in southern California. He also created the Troy Aikman Foundation, which partners with musician Garth Brooks to build interactive playrooms in children’s hospitals across the country.

Aikman is the 10th Bruin to receive this prestigious award. He joins Gail Devers (2013), Jackie Joyner-Kersee (2010), Cormac Carney (2008), Dot Richardson (2008), Ann Meyers Drysdale (2003), Bill Walton (1999), Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (1994), Willie Naulls (1981), and Don Moomaw (1978).

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 03 - 12:30 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Saturday, Sep 10 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. UNLV
Pasadena, CA
Saturday, Sep 17 - TBA PST
at Brigham Young
Provo, UT
Saturday, Sep 24 - TBA PST
vs. Stanford
Pasadena, CA