2016 NFL Draft
Annual UCLA Football Awards Banquet Held Dec. 9

December 10, 1998

LOS ANGELES - Senior quarterback Cade McNown and senior strong safety Larry Atkins were selected for the second consecutive season as winners of UCLA's Henry R. "Red" Sanders Award for Most Valuable Player Wednesday night at the 80th Annual UCLA Football Awards Banquet, held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

McNown, one of four finalists for the Heisman Trophy and the winner of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, was selected the Pac-10 co-Offensive Player of the Year and co-first team quarterback. In 11 games, McNown has completed 188 of 323 passes (58.2%) for 3,130 yards and 23 touchdowns. He has already set new school records for passing yards and total offense (3,297) with one game still to be played.

Atkins, one of 10 semifinalists for the 1998 Thorpe Award, leads the Bruins with 85 tackles, including three for loss. The second-team Football News All-American has also made four interceptions, tied for the team lead, and recovered a team-leading five fumbles.

The complete list of winners:

Charles Pike Memorial Award for Outstanding Scout Team Player:
Offense: tight end Gabe Crecion
Defense: lineman Rusty Williams

Jack R. Robinson Award for Highest Scholarship of a Senior Player:
Center Shawn Stuart

N.N. Sugarman Award for Best Leadership:
Offense: quarterback Cade McNown
Defense: strong safety Larry Atkins

Captain Don Brown Memorial Award for Most Improved Player:
Offense: tackle Brian Polak
Defense: cornerback Ryan Roques

John Boncheff, Jr. Memorial Award for Rookie of the Year:
Offense: tailback DeShaun Foster
Defense: linebacker Ryan Nece

Tommy Prothro Award for Outstanding Special Teams Player:
Defensive Back Tod McBride

Kenneth S. Washington Award for Outstanding Senior:
Tight end Mike Grieb

George W. Dickerson Award for Outstanding Offensive Player against USC:
Tailback DeShaun Foster

Donn Moomaw Award for Outstanding Defensive Player against USC:
Linebacker Brendon Ayanbadejo

Paul I. Wellman Memorial Award for All-Around Excellence:
Center Shawn Stuart; flanker Danny Farmer

Terry Donahue Award for Outstanding Achievement for a Walk-on:
Tailback Mark Reynosa

Inaugural Jerry Long "Heart" Award:
Offensive guard Andy Meyers

1998 Team Captain Award:
Quarterback Cade McNown; strong safety Larry Atkins; offensive guard Andy Meyers; center Shawn Stuart

Henry R. "Red" Sanders Award for Most Valuable Player:
Offense: quarterback Cade McNown
Defense: strong safety Larry Atkins

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 03 - 12:30 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Saturday, Sep 10 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. UNLV
Pasadena, CA
Saturday, Sep 17 - TBA PST
at Brigham Young
Provo, UT