2016 NFL Draft
McCloskey Named To Rimington Trophy List

March 25, 2004

UCLA junior center Mike McCloskey is one of 36 centers named to the pre-season 'Watch List' for the 2004 Dave Rimington Trophy. The Rimington Trophy, named after the former University of Nebraska standout, is awarded annually to the nation's top center.

McCloskey, 6-5, 285, started all 13 games during the 2002 football season as a second-year freshman and earned second-team Freshman All-America honors. Last season, he started the first five games before suffering a fractured left ankle that sidelined him for the remainder of the season. He has recovered from that injury and will be participating in Spring Football, which begins on April 7.

The Rimington Award has been presented annually since the 2000 season. Former recipients include Jake Grove of Virginia Tech (2003), Brett Romberg of Miami (2002), LeCharles Bentley of Ohio State (2001), and Dominic Raiola of Nebraska (2000).

The Rimington Trophy's Division 1-A winners are decided by a consensus of All-America teams that are selected by the Walter Camp Foundation, the Football Writers Association of America, the American Football Coaches Association, the Associated Press, and The Sporting News. The awards ceremony will be held in mid-December at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, NE.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 03 - 12:30 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Saturday, Sep 10 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. UNLV
Pasadena, CA
Saturday, Sep 17 - TBA PST
at Brigham Young
Provo, UT