Leading UCLA Receiver Sidelined With Dislocated Shoulder

Oct. 19, 2001

LOS ANGELES (AP) - Brian Poli-Dixon, the fifth-leading receiver in UCLA history, will be sidelined 2-to-3 weeks because of a dislocated left shoulder.

Poli-Dixon, a 6-foot-5, 215-pound senior, was injured in the second half of No. 4 UCLA's 35-13 victory over No. 15 Washington on Saturday after making four receptions for 69 yards. He leads the Bruins with 14 catches for 234 yards this season.

"I feel horrible for Brian," UCLA quarterback Cory Paus said Monday. "Brian's pretty talented. We have some other guys who are going to have to step up for us. They aren't that far off, talent-wise. I don't think it will slow us down that much."

Poli-Dixon has 129 catches in his career, and needs 14 to pass Sean LaChapelle and become No. 4 on UCLA's career reception list.

Poli-Dixon's 1,946 yards are the ninth-most in UCLA history, and his 20 touchdown catches are tied for second with JoJo Townsell behind J.J. Stokes, who caught 28 TD passes as a Bruin.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 05
vs. Virginia
Pasadena, CA
W, 34 - 16
Saturday, Sep 12
Las Vegas, NV
W, 37 - 3
Saturday, Sep 19
vs. Brigham Young
Pasadena, CA
W, 24 - 23
Saturday, Sep 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 56 - 30
Saturday, Oct 03
vs. Arizona State
Pasadena, CA
L, 23 - 38
Thursday, Oct 15
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 35 - 56
Thursday, Oct 22
vs. California
Pasadena, CA
W, 40 - 24
Saturday, Oct 31
vs. Colorado
Pasadena, CA
W, 35 - 31
Saturday, Nov 07
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 41 - 0
Saturday, Nov 14
vs. Washington State
Pasadena, CA
L, 27 - 31
Saturday, Nov 21
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 17 - 9
Saturday, Nov 28 - 12:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA